LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2005, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Post imported post

I own a 2nd hand 1988 GL1500. I have been getting very poor mileage (30 MPG). I also am smelling gas vapors after a ride. Since I am new at working on bikes (not afraid to try at least), I decided to check out several ideas. I checked the air filter (clean fairly new), but noticed what appears to be a missing hose. I have a picture (see attached). The missing hose is supposed to go to the Air Vent Control Valve (which also appears to be missing), and there are no loose or hanging hoses in the area. Can anyone tell me if this might be my problem, or whether it is OK to run with out this valve (as it appears that the previous owner thought it was OK). I don't want to put anything back together until I get an update from on of you experienced WINGERS!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MISSING HOSE.JPG (59.1 KB, 395 views)

"NEVER RIDE FASTER THAN YOUR ANGEL CAN FLY"
Jrogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2005, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)

Post imported post

That is the fuel return pipe to the tank. I'm surprised that fuel isn't flooding out of this every so often. the vent canister shold be attached here as well. This won't have any effect onfuel mileage (it does explain the smell of petrol), but I would be inclined to get the missing parts asap. Petrol fumes from that area can cause the rider to fall asleep at the switch!
It looks like someone else has been "fixing" the carbs. Might be wise to get them looked at professionally soon.
Old 03-26-2005, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)

Post imported post

Thanks Jason, why do you say that someone else has been working on the carbs? Is it because this canister is missing? The funny thing is the bike runs and idles very good, but guess I have a lot to learn. Any feedback would be great.

Old 03-26-2005, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)

Post imported post