Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 02:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ramona, California, USA
Posts: 184
Post imported post

Gents,

Well, I finally received my shipment of ordered stuff from Wingstuff. I got the air hose that's specific for the Aspencade. I also got a spare fuel filter, and the "Kuryakyn L.E.D. volt meter. Because of where I mounted it. Start t finish on this install was about 30 minutes. Well, I start up the bike. the little lights all come on in a smal l pattern then settel down and reads between 13 and 14 volts. I checked right at the battery while running and I am 14. 9 volts. The new meter doesn't measure it that way I guess. Here's a pic of the install.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg volt meter.jpg (32.4 KB, 311 views)

Scott & Karla
RETIRED!
FIRE UP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Silicon Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Model: 1997 GL1500 SE
Posts: 6,078
Post imported post

Wires have a property called resistance. Battery voltage may be 14.9, but with the dinky wire that comes with most devices will have a voltage drop. Varies with the wire size and load.

The meter show is not that accurate anyway. A meter with an LED or LCD display would have been more accurate for readings.

I used to work on Mac computers, and they originally had a 12" wire harness. There would be 5V at the power supply, and 4.92 at the motherboard. The harness that came out later had thicker wire, and after that the motherboard voltage went to like 4.98.

1983 GL1100 Interstate Black
1997 GL1500 SE Pearl Sapphire Black
Silicon Sam is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 02:43 AM
Senior Member
 
EDDIE W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: accrington, lancashire, , United Kingdom
Posts: 3,344
Send a message via Yahoo to EDDIE W
Post imported post

nice little meter, i put a digital volt meter on mine, it gives a totaly different reading than the 3 AVO meters i have, and the 3 meters read the same, so i dont rely on the one i fitted, its more for show than anything now

GSVH
radio hams do it all night !!! and sometimes with frequency
\'88 GL1500
EDDIE W is offline  
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 02:46 AM
Senior Member
 
mikef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Model: Aspencade
Posts: 10,276
Garage
Post imported post

That's a nice little gauge. Quick glance and you know you are good, I like the darkening feature at night too. I put one on mine, and managed to lose the chrome cover tooling down one of Chicago's finest toll roads.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mike
Finally, old enough to know better. Just need some common sense now......
Patriot Guard Rider

1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1993 GL1500 Aspencade
1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1985 GL1200 Aspencade
1985 Suzuki Madura 700
1973 Honda 350CB
1965 Honda 50


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikef is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ramona, California, USA
Posts: 184
Post imported post

Silicon Sam,

I researched some LCD and LED ones before I picked this one. I was obviously going the wrong direction 'cause the ones I looked at you had to "Build" before installing. In that you had to remove some jumper wires here and install some resistors there to make it work. And, since you know about computers etc, the LCDs and LEDs I was considering can't be powered by the same voltage you are trying to monitor. So, many of them had to be powered by a 9V battery so that could be independent of the power you were monitoring.

So, that lead to going to checking on "Wingstuff" and one or two other sites to see what they had. Well, I really don't care for it 'cause it's too vague. I would have rather had an LED one. I know and realize it's way more accurate. But, this will do for now, it's at least telling me that I'm getting a charge whereas I had nothing before. Crazy Hondas, why didn't they put one on from the factory on this year model?????????

Scott

Scott & Karla
RETIRED!
FIRE UP is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
oldishwinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Napier, , New Zealand
Posts: 661
Post imported post

gidday,

if you have connected the voltmeter to the auxillary screws, there will be a slight
difference, in voltage reading, at the battery, and auxillary, a very clever person on this forum worked it out about .2 of of a volt, not really worth worrying about.

connecting the voltmeter to a relay, that is connected, directly to the battery. may give you a more accurate reading.

good luck,

Robbie,

1986 Gl1200 Aspencade (Mariah)

\'I ride not to get there, but to go\'
oldishwinger is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-22-2008, 07:29 PM
Yeah, I'm still here
 
Rudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlantr, Gawga, NS of A
Model: AmericanSportworks LMLSV
Posts: 19,112
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to Rudy
Post imported post

A couple of things about voltmeters. They are not intended to be absolute lab measurement devices. Those units that have a tenth of a volt are rediculous.
Even without that, the actual voltage read does not matter either. What a vehicle voltmeter is for is for you to learn what is full charge, what is reduced charge and what the normal cyclical patterns of the system are so you can tell when things aren't normal early.

Others have already mentioned the wiring voltage drop but as I said that is not an issue.

If you really care, attach the meter only at the battery. then take a calibrated voltmeter and measure the full charge voltage. Then look at your bike meter. THAT is full charge, whatever it is. Now you have a reference point you can reference changes up or down by that reference.

I have that same black voltmeter mounted to my key bridge and I can see it reflected day or night on my windscreen just below the viewing area. That way I have a heads up display on my windshield. Works simply and efficiently. I only recommend using the black one to do that unless you want all the chrome in your face on the windscreen reflection as well.



Rudy
"People give up their privacy for the chance at a $.10 off coupon!"
(quoted from conf. at ODNI)
Rudy is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 02:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mikef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Model: Aspencade
Posts: 10,276
Garage
Post imported post

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM....chrome.....



Now I sound like Digger.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mike
Finally, old enough to know better. Just need some common sense now......
Patriot Guard Rider

1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1993 GL1500 Aspencade
1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1985 GL1200 Aspencade
1985 Suzuki Madura 700
1973 Honda 350CB
1965 Honda 50


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikef is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 455
Post imported post

I put mine over the neutral light on my 1100. Black case and still too bright which was a distraction. I covered 1/2 the lights with black tape. Good for me!!
john424 is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Motosickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Orlando(in the shadow of the mouse), Florida, USA
Posts: 725
Send a message via Yahoo to Motosickle
Post imported post

FIRE UP wrote:
Quote:
Gents,

**** Well, I finally received my shipment of ordered stuff from Wingstuff. I got the air hose that's specific for the Aspencade. I also got a spare fuel filter, and the "Kuryakyn L.E.D. volt meter. Because of where I mounted it. Start t finish on this install was about 30 minutes. Well, I start up the bike. the little lights all come on in a smal l pattern then settel down and reads between 13 and 14 volts. I checked right at the battery while running and I am 14. 9 volts. The new meter doesn't measure it that way I guess. Here's a pic of the install.
how much did that unit cost?

A proud Patriot Guard Rider........because it\'s the right thing to do!
Motosickle is offline  
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
volt meter install mjohnson Goldwing Technical Forum 9 08-02-2015 01:13 AM
Want to install volt meter scvmike Goldwing Technical Forum 16 12-12-2007 12:47 PM
Easy volt meter install millisec Goldwing Technical Forum 6 05-12-2007 03:51 AM
how to install Volt meter on GL1100? handyrandy Goldwing Technical Forum 8 04-25-2006 05:04 PM
Kuryakyn L E D volt meter oldiebutgoodie General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 3 02-25-2006 07:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome