LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2010, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Goldwing Model: 84 GL 1200 Aspencade
Post imported post

I searched thru the forum but didnt find anything specific to the GL1200.

This just started today. Momma and I took a ride out of town. It has been running fine until today.

I thought I was imagining things at first, but soon realized I wasnt. Just at letting the clutch go to take off and shortly thereafter, it misses and cuts out . Probably less than 1500 rpm. After that it runs fine. I even slowed down to almost a stop, and took off redlining it it each gear. No issues. Choke on, or choke off. Same issue. Just as I let the clutch go and shortly after. Just happens under load from takeoff.

The only thing different today was momma with me. She only weighs 120 tho, so not a big load, but some.

As a shade-tree mechanic, I would guess plugs are the issue, but not sure. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
dtherren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2010, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

Goldwing Model: 2006 ST 1300
Garage
Post imported post

Plugs aren't a bad idea but, did this start after a recent fill-up ??? May have gotten a bit of dirt in the low-speed jets. I just put some fresh NGK's in mine for the up-coming trip to NASSIR, but the old set was pushing 24K and the only symptom I had was a stumble on cold starts...

1986 Interstate, 2006 ST 1300
Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

Post imported post

Hoping for some similar help. My 1200gl starts and runnings great until hot. Them it stumbles and sputters across the whole throttle, often stalling when off throttle unless choked to raise rpm.

I recently replaced the slide diaphragms and plugs. Ran amazing for a month. Fueled and it died. I have now run 3 tanks and most of a can of sea foam. Changed filter also.

Any help, please.
scrambled82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)