Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

GL1800 trike tire front

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  Dom C 
#1 ·
imported post

Hi I have a 2009 goldwing roadmaster trike. It had a dunlop series tire on the front.

I was really unhappy with the results both in mileage and performance.

The trike pulled to the left. 8000 miles and there were bare spots on the center bar.

Put a Michelin piloy activ rear tire on the front.Instant no more pulling. I have 2000 on it now and cant see any wear yet. Handles great in both yet and dry roads.

I would suggest this tire to anyone either a trike or still 2wheels. Just so mush better then standard.

#4 ·
imported post

Being new to Goldwings (just got my 05 GL 1800 this last April) and not very knowledgeable about a lot of the mechanical stuff, I am going to show my ignorance here and ask a couple (okay--3) questions. Will the rear tire fit on the front rim without any problems if it's not triked but remains a 2-wheeler? Also, I recall reading somewhere that you need to mount it backwards as to spin direction from the rear wheel? And will it work with a front fender extension?

#5 ·
imported post

Dom C wrote:
Being new to Goldwings (just got my 05 GL 1800 this last April) and not very knowledgeable about a lot of the mechanical stuff, I am going to show my ignorance here and ask a couple (okay--3) questions. Will the rear tire fit on the front rim without any problems if it's not triked but remains a 2-wheeler? Also, I recall reading somewhere that you need to mount it backwards as to spin direction from the rear wheel? And will it work with a front fender extension?