LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bellview, Florida, USA
Model: 1200 INTERSTATE
Posts: 279
GL1200, tach to set the carbs.

I need to adjust the carbs so I need a tachometer to set them with. autozone has one and it has two wires, the instructions tell how to hook to A coil on a car. what I don't know is how can I hook it to my 1200, I have four coils..
dudeboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 09:58 PM
SCB
Senior Member
 
SCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Byron Center, Michigan, USA
Model: 1995 Aspencade
Posts: 1,150
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudeboy View Post
I need to adjust the carbs so I need a tachometer to set them with. autozone has one and it has two wires, the instructions tell how to hook to A coil on a car. what I don't know is how can I hook it to my 1200, I have four coils..
I'm confused, does your 1200 not have a tach?

Current bikes
'95 GL1500A



Former bikes
'72 Yamaha DT100
'72 Husqvarna WR250
'63 Sears Allstate Puch
'76 Suzuki RM100
'79 RM125
'71 Honda CB350
'77 Honda CB550 4k
94 Kawasaki Vulcan 750
'83 Honda GL1100A
'83 Honda GL1100A
'77 Yamaha XS750D
'80 Kawasaki KZ1000LTD
'80 SR250 (Karen's bike)
'93 Suzuki GS5000E (Karen's bike II)
SCB is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bellview, Florida, USA
Model: 1200 INTERSTATE
Posts: 279
tach

yep it does have a tach. the tach on the bike is not that accurate to reley on for true carb setting. it could be out as much as 1k from one carb to the other.
dudeboy is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 12:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Model: GL1500 SE
Posts: 566
Here is a link to Tiny Tach. It should do what you need it to do and it wont break the bank.

http://tinytach.com/gasoline.php

Dane & Bunny
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Rides I still own:
96 Honda GL1500 SE (Magenta 2 Tone - Such a Fast Color They Only Made a Few!)
85 Suzuki GS850G
77 Honda CT70 Hondamatic
69 Honda CB750 Sand Cast Block

Gave away to a friend:
79 Yamaha XS1100 Special
Dane is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 02:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Cornpone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Minnesota
Model: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade, 1985 GL1200 Aspencade, 1983 GL1100 Standard with Vetter Windjammer fairing.
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudeboy View Post
I need to adjust the carbs so I need a tachometer to set them with. autozone has one and it has two wires, the instructions tell how to hook to A coil on a car. what I don't know is how can I hook it to my 1200, I have four coils..
You're talking about adjusting the fuel/air mix, right? Unless your 1200 is modified you have TWO coils, and you don't need to hook to the coils. Out of the CDI is a solid yellow wire. Connect the tach to that and a ground. When I did my carbs last it turned out that my on-board tach was remarkably accurate. Go figure, it's only 28 years old!
Cornpone is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 02:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Bike...and Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Model: 1987 GL1200 Interstate 275,000 miles
Posts: 12,233
The Interstate tachs don't display increments fine enough for an idle drop. I picked a little tach digital up off eBay that works well enough. It's slow to register but to hook it up, you just wrap its lead around any plug wire.

Why ain't we ridin'?
Bike...and Dennis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1989 set of carbs viking3630 Goldwing Technical Forum 10 07-11-2012 05:17 AM
1989 set of carbs viking3630 Goldwing Technical Forum 2 06-29-2012 03:56 AM
F/S - Set of GL1200 Carbs Kefltrvlr2 For Sale/Wanted Forum 4 06-14-2012 02:15 PM
Well, I got everything set for syncronizing GL1500 carbs and... vtxcandyred Goldwing Technical Forum 4 06-14-2010 07:09 AM
Set of Carbs eimmot For Sale/Wanted Forum 1 05-28-2009 02:52 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome