GL1500 CB radio connector plug - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-24-2007, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
 
wingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Model: GL1800
Posts: 7,190
Send a message via Skype™ to wingnut
Post imported post

GL1500 OEM CB Tip, concerning the connector block that always seems to be missing when people buy used OEM CB's.Thanks toGilles Adam in Canada for passing this along to us(I've posted this on the Tips Page also);

For people who want to install a used OEM CB to a GL1500. If you don't have the OEM wire plug on the CB, you can replace it by a radio plug from an Honda Civic 1986 (car). It's the same plug, you just have to connect the wire up yourself.

[align=center][/align]

Steve Saunders,
Founder Member & Admin.
wingnut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-24-2007, 04:58 PM
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 56,998
Garage
Post imported post

Good tip Steve. Worthy of adding to your FACTS column in the main part of the website.

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2007, 03:57 AM
Senior Member
 
GoWing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Memphis, , USA
Posts: 969
Post imported post

I see it's on the TIPS page Paul.

Larry.
GoWing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2007, 05:35 AM
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 56,998
Garage
Post imported post

wouldn't ya know, we got the best webmaster there is.

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 08:55 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 3
Post imported post

I have a 1995 GL1500 SE, it has all the controls for a cb radio, including the plug ins for the headsets. Apparently the Canadian edition did not come equipped with a CB Radio. I just purchased one on EBay. Do I need a wiring harness or is the bike already equipped with one?
snowman1609 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
wexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Blackwater, County Wexford, Ireland.
Year: 2003
Model: GL1800
Posts: 11,739
Send a message via Yahoo to wexy
Post imported post

snowman1609 wrote:
Quote:
I have a 1995 GL1500 SE, it has all the controls for a cb radio, including the plug ins for the headsets. Apparently the Canadian edition did not come equipped with a CB Radio. I just purchased one on EBay. Do I need a wiring harness or is the bike already equipped with one?
if you can post this in the tech forum ,it will get abetter response..

CIARAN (pronounced Keeron)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yes it is Gaelic
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wexy is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
SHREK snr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bromley, , United Kingdom
Posts: 1,221
Post imported post

Hi, are you Rick, did you send me an email re CB instructions. Regards Colin

1982 cany red 1100 Interstate
Chrome wont get you home. / Skype goldwingnut /RBLR . "When You Go Home, Tell Them Of Us And Say, For Your Tomorrow we gave our today" Colin
SHREK snr is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-10-2011, 07:40 AM
Junior Member
 
shadowrealm007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gainesville, Texas, USA
Posts: 7
Post imported post

The 71-1720 fits the CB Transceiver but does anyone know a plug that connects to the radio?
shadowrealm007 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-10-2011, 09:12 AM
Other side of the pond
 
englishted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Peterlee, County Durham, United Kingdom
Model: GL1800, GL1500SE, GL1200A
Posts: 3,409
Post imported post

That should already be built into the main wiring harness on the Wing.

Ted Kelly.
Current Wings; 2006 GL1800 & 1997 GL1500se.
englishted is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-10-2011, 09:50 AM
Junior Member
 
shadowrealm007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gainesville, Texas, USA
Posts: 7
Post imported post

Unfortunately none of the CB Transceiver wire harness is present on my 98 Aspencade.
shadowrealm007 is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Reference and FAQ Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
93 Gl1500 SE radio wiring for plug skip20 Goldwing Technical Forum 49 04-30-2012 03:05 PM
GL1500 Radio Plug fer-kat-97 Goldwing Technical Forum 2 05-24-2009 10:12 PM
Master Plug connector 2wings Goldwing Technical Forum 7 03-14-2009 08:17 AM
The extra connector on the back of a GL1500 radio cassette.... IanB Goldwing Technical Forum 3 05-01-2007 06:54 AM
Need spark plug connector slickster Goldwing Technical Forum 3 11-26-2006 09:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome