Gl1500 carb rebuild - Page 11 - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 19Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #101 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 07:32 PM
It aint rocket science
 
DriverRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Model: The best
Posts: 3,802
No such thing as a vacuum fuel return valve and he knows what the petcock is.

If what you mean is that hard metal pipe that goes to each carb and then back around rear of air box is flowing gas that means the carb(s) are flooding.

J.D.

There is NO substitute for experience
I'll be around when I come around and not before
Internet myth buster

Starter ride
Rupp
Previous rides
Bultaco
Yamaha 360
Yamaha 650
WS Grand Chapter CT
If local and need help with a 1500, Valkyrie or ST repair please PM
DriverRider is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TXRLGL1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Keller, Texas, USA
Model: 1988 1500A.
Posts: 1,025
My finger pointing to the leaking valve. There is a lot of flow once this gets going and the bike only runs a second or two.
Cannot find this part on any parts fiche. Remember this was a recall on the 88 year model.
This connects to a metal manifold that has two rubber hoses the runs to each carb and tees into this valve.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160323_173153w.jpg (113.7 KB, 54 views)
TXRLGL1500 is offline  
post #103 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 09:08 PM
Moderator
 
Bike...and Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Model: 1987 GL1200 Interstate 290,000 miles
Posts: 21,741
I think we had another 15 leak from that thing, maybe 6 months ago.
Do a search.

Found it: https://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/...er-gl1500.html

Why ain't we ridin'?
Bike...and Dennis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #104 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TXRLGL1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Keller, Texas, USA
Model: 1988 1500A.
Posts: 1,025
Yes, thinking I will tap on the tops of the carbs later. I failed to mention installing a new fuel pump the one we have a sticky on. What this valve does is beyond me.
TXRLGL1500 is offline  
post #105 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Magic Fingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Model: 91 Aspencade with a 97 powerplant!
Posts: 2,295
This is what you seek...


Looks like a California model and this is pollution control.


http://www.hondapartsnation.com/oemp...17/canister-ac


Tim

1) Experience is something you don't get until after you need it.
2) A closed mouth gathers no foot.
3) IF YOU DON'T HAVE TIME TO DO IT RIGHT, WHEN WILL YOU HAVE TIME TO DO IT OVER??
____

Horsepower is an illusory mathematical equation; Torque is REAL, and is the source of all good things in the world.

The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?

Please visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Mr Magic Fingers is offline  
post #106 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Magic Fingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Model: 91 Aspencade with a 97 powerplant!
Posts: 2,295
It looks like it takes tank vapors and sucks them back into the carb when activated.


You mention that it goes to each carb? This does not look like it would do that. Also, it looks like it gets vacuum from the same line that runs your petcock.


Could you have this "plumed" wrong?


Tim

1) Experience is something you don't get until after you need it.
2) A closed mouth gathers no foot.
3) IF YOU DON'T HAVE TIME TO DO IT RIGHT, WHEN WILL YOU HAVE TIME TO DO IT OVER??
____

Horsepower is an illusory mathematical equation; Torque is REAL, and is the source of all good things in the world.

The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?

Please visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Mr Magic Fingers is offline  
post #107 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Magic Fingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Model: 91 Aspencade with a 97 powerplant!
Posts: 2,295
Personally, I would remove all this stuff and check your "pluming" out.


I would replace the gas cap with a regular one without a "barb", have the petcock run right from the manifold and not the carb, and cap/plug any remaining open vacuum lines or barbs.


Kick that extra crap to the curb on garbage day.


Use the KISS method... Keep It Super Simple!


Tim

1) Experience is something you don't get until after you need it.
2) A closed mouth gathers no foot.
3) IF YOU DON'T HAVE TIME TO DO IT RIGHT, WHEN WILL YOU HAVE TIME TO DO IT OVER??
____

Horsepower is an illusory mathematical equation; Torque is REAL, and is the source of all good things in the world.

The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?

Please visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Mr Magic Fingers is offline  
post #108 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TXRLGL1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Keller, Texas, USA
Model: 1988 1500A.
Posts: 1,025
Magic Fingers:
It not mis-plumbed (LOL) as I never de-plumbed that part while doing this. Basically a couple of years ago I bypassed the autopetcock and left all that stuff alone. These run to the top of each carb and are vents. I agree with DriverRider the carbs are likely flooding and all that gas would be on running down to on top of the motor if this plumbing is removed. When the carbs were rebuilt I did not replace needles and seats or the floats. Thinking maybe I shoulda now. Hope the new fuel pump is not overpowering the floats. However its the same one that is recommended as a replacement. The petcock runs from a source on the intake manifold. There are no less than 9-10 vacuum hoses running to those carburetors.
Not going to get in a hurry to change anything right now, will see if tapping or moving the bike up and down will seat the floats.
They were free and loose when assembled.
TXRLGL1500 is offline  
post #109 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-24-2016, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TXRLGL1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Keller, Texas, USA
Model: 1988 1500A.
Posts: 1,025
Came home this afternoon and cranked the bike to get some fuel up in the carbs. Cranked only a bit to get some past the petcock. Then I disconnected the fuel pump. The bike cranked and fired up and ran smoothly, sounded real good. I had tapped on the carbs last night, this morning and will run it this way bit. May see about getting a fuel pressure gage inline to see how many psi the pump is outputting. After all this I liked the carbs not bogging down when throttle was applied.
Hope Everyone's Good Friday is Blessed.
Thanks
David
restarted and let it run some more just on the gas in each bowl. I do have a leak at the hoses from the radiator will reposition the clamps. At least got it to warm up. And added some fresher gas to it. Everytime I reconnected the fuel pump flooding would start.

Last edited by TXRLGL1500; 03-24-2016 at 05:33 PM. Reason: further running
TXRLGL1500 is offline  
post #110 of 161 (permalink) Old 03-24-2016, 05:39 PM
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,157
Garage
The fuel pump only outputs ~2.5-3.5 psi so make sure the gauge you buy is one that will read low pressures.... I found one that reads up to about 10 psi.

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is offline  
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Reference and FAQ Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL1500 Carb Replacement or Rebuild bullwinkle25 Goldwing Technical Forum 5 04-08-2015 03:55 PM
Need help - GL1500 wont idle after carb rebuild donspicer Goldwing Technical Forum 14 12-21-2014 03:33 AM
88 Goldwing Gl1500 carb rebuild? wabo100 Goldwing Technical Forum 3 04-28-2012 12:54 PM
GL1500 Carb rebuild? Doubleeyes Goldwing Technical Forum 9 01-05-2011 08:11 AM
GL1500 carb rebuild cired99 Goldwing Technical Forum 5 11-30-2010 09:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome