Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Help me find an old bike?

4K views 40 replies 8 participants last post by  sixbennetts 
#1 ·
Hi folks,

Donny here from upstate NY. Don't own a wing yet, but I'm hoping you folks can help me find the right project bike. I'm a disabled vet living on my payments, so money's VERY tight. Obviously, a basket case is right up my alley! This will be a bare-bones bike with simple vintage looking fenders, a single saddle seat, and the only tins will be the tank cover and fenders. No battery cover.

1. I'm gonna add a custom sidecar. Either by buying a sidecar frame designed for a wing, or making one. The type of car is a surprise.

2. I'm going to strip it down, so condition of fairing, sidecases, trunk, and cover panels are unimportant. (Thinking about removing the GW tank cover, and replacing it with a Valkyrie tank cover).

3. Must have the older steel tubular frame, so pre-2001.

4. Must have reverse, so newer than 1988.

5. Going darkside with the tires, so without tires is fine.

Who's got an old GL1500 stashed away, taking up space, or getting in the way?

Thanks!

See less See more
#6 ·
Hallo sixbennetts

Welcome on this nice forum. Wish you al the best.
And good luck with your search for a Wing.

#8 ·
Hi folks,

Donny here from upstate NY. Don't own a wing yet, but I'm hoping you folks can help me find the right project bike. I'm a disabled vet living on my payments, so money's VERY tight. Obviously, a basket case is right up my alley! This will be a bare-bones bike with simple vintage looking fenders, a single saddle seat, and the only tins will be the tank cover and fenders. No battery cover.

1. I'm gonna add a custom sidecar. Either by buying a sidecar frame designed for a wing, or making one. The type of car is a surprise.

2. I'm going to strip it down, so condition of fairing, sidecases, trunk, and cover panels are unimportant. (Thinking about removing the GW tank cover, and replacing it with a Valkyrie tank cover).