1200A Milea to K/m - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-09-2005, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: jhlk, Armenia
Model: Goldwing
Posts: 4,040
Post imported post

I recently bought a 1200Aspencade from Seattle( Miles)and I live in Vancouver BC (Kilometers)

Every time I start up I have to push the miles/K/m to get display in K/Ms as it is defaulted to miles (US Bike)

any one know if I can switch it so it defaults to K/m's????

minor but irritating problem



Thanks Neil
Attached Images
File Type: jpg __tn_aahhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!.jpg (8.5 KB, 122 views)
ccsailor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-09-2005, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Andrewl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, , New Zealand
Posts: 401
Post imported post

Boy it would be lovely if you could get it to default to km, however I don't think you can.

Would someone please PLEASE PLEASE prove me wrong and let us know how.

Andrew

Kiwi Winger
EX\'87 1200 Silver/blue Aspencade
Honda VTR 1000 Firestorm, going fast but stiff joints
Andrewl is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-09-2005, 11:55 PM
Postpubescent member
 
exavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medford, County of Jackson, Oregon, USA
Model: None at present
Posts: 36,382
Post imported post

That's what you guys get for falling for that French plot!

The metric system is dangerous, makes your bike go too fast.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
exavid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 12:15 AM
Junior Member
 
N9FRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago-Land, ,
Posts: 16
Post imported post

LOL yea. I mean, it's bad enough when my car does not like being referred to as a 3.0 liter........

my old car (way back when) loved being called a 396 c.i.d.





O well, buying a vehicle in the U.S. ain't what it used to be, huh ?

Jerry in Chicago-Land
2005 Candy Black Cherry
A Grand-paa and Luvin\' it!
I just wanna RIDE !!!
N9FRP is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 02:14 AM
The Irish Crew
 
FitzAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Model: GL1100 Interstate
Posts: 3,932
Post imported post

Sorry Neil it can't be done. The display LCD is a different pat number for Canadian models so the only way out is a used Canadian or European dash.

Alan Fitzpatrick.
FitzAl is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
AZWinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 860
Post imported post

Be glad you only have to push a button instead of trying to read the little numbers all the time!

Bob

83 GL1100 Aspencade
AZWinger is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 10:32 AM
Postpubescent member
 
exavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medford, County of Jackson, Oregon, USA
Model: None at present
Posts: 36,382
Post imported post

AZWinger wrote:
Quote:
Be glad you only have to push a button instead of trying to read the little numbers all the time!
It's a pain to multiply all the speed limit signs by 0.6 all the time, pushing a button isn't all that bad.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
exavid is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2005, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: jhlk, Armenia
Model: Goldwing
Posts: 4,040
Post imported post

I thought I would wire in a momentary relay that when the bike is turned on the relay shorts the miles - K/M button for about 5 sec????????
ccsailor is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2005, 09:29 PM
Postpubescent member
 
exavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medford, County of Jackson, Oregon, USA
Model: None at present
Posts: 36,382
Post imported post

ccsailor wrote:
Quote:
I thought I would wire in a momentary relay that when the bike is turned on the relay shorts the miles - K/M button for about 5 sec????????
You might try connecting a 100uF or larger capacitor across the switch, you'd get a momentary current through it as it charged and once it was charged it'd be an open circuit for all practical purposes. If it worked it would be a lot simpler and have no moving parts. The only question would be how long it took to discharge through itself. If it didn't discharge it wouldn't work the second time you started up. A 25K resistor or some such value wired across the capacitor should discharge it in a reasonable amount of time and be high enough resistance to prevent the effect of having the button pushed all the time. I'd try a potentiometer across a capacitor and then adjust it until the discharge time was sufficiently short with enough resistance to avoid looking like a closed circuit to the speedo input. It'd be worth an experiment, and shouldn't be able to damage anything.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
exavid is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-12-2005, 01:34 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: jhlk, Armenia
Model: Goldwing
Posts: 4,040
Post imported post

Would it not just continuousy repeat the charge discharge cycle in effect pushing the button every charge time????????
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SydNC4e.jpg (69.4 KB, 29 views)
ccsailor is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL-1200A thebigdaddy70 Goldwing Technical Forum 17 07-13-2012 08:59 AM
GL 1200a roccketman Goldwing Technical Forum 11 04-12-2011 11:52 AM
New old 1200A 24.4ZOOM New Members Introduction Forum 17 10-12-2009 02:06 PM
paint for a 84 1200a houdini Goldwing Technical Forum 2 09-30-2008 05:35 PM
84 1200A MarkEddy1 Goldwing Technical Forum 6 04-13-2007 04:45 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome