Turn Signal woes on an '86 Aspencade - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-10-2005, 09:50 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

I am a rookie Goldwing owner, just purchased a very nice 1986 GL1200 Aspencade with 55,000 miles. It runs very smooth but there is a problem with the turn signals.

When you press the button for the hazard lights, all lights come on and flash. But when you turn on the turn signal left or right nothing happens. Could this be caused by the turn signal cancel unit or should I be looking for something else?

My big problem is that I don't know where to begin looking for the components so that I can test them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for this site.

Tom in Kentucky

Tom in Kentucky
1986 GL1200
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-10-2005, 10:40 PM
Postpubescent member

Model: None at present
Post imported post

Welcome to the Best Goldwing Site on the Internet tsandlin!

Could be the handlebar switch, give it a shot of contact cleaner/lube or WD40 and work it a bit to see if that does any good. I don't have a 1200 schematic since I got my 1500, but there are plenty here that do and will respond soon. I don't even remember if there are one or two flasher units. While waiting for someone who knows what they are talking about, it wouldn't hurt to take a look at all the fuses.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-11-2005, 07:14 AM
Best looking member

Year: 1997
Make: Honda, is there any other?
Model: 1997 SE. Pearl Green
Post imported post

On my 85 if I remember correctly, it had two flasher units. the one for turn signals are mounted under the fake tank at the top to the right of the vac advance module, it is round and covered in rubber( sounds like my last girlfriend) Hope this helps.

Pearl Green(The Intelligent colour)