throttle cable - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-21-2005, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Vivian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, , Ireland
Posts: 63
Post imported post

can anyone give me any advice on fitting a new throttle cable to a 1989 GL 1500

only skydivers know why birds sing
87/88 CBR 1000
89 GL 1500 with sidecar
SHINE ON YOU CRAZY DIAMOND
KEEP IT LIT (JOEY DUNLOP 3)
Vivian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-21-2005, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 1,148
Post imported post

What exactly do you mean by "fitting"? Are you installing a replacement cable? Adjusting the original cable?

Old Nam Vet
LZ English 66 - 67
New \'08 Titanium Nav
I\'m old and wise, but was once young and stupid.
Renegade is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-21-2005, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Tonys96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 805
Post imported post

To "chase" the new cables I always use duct tape and tape them to the old one I'm removing.

As far as getting to the throttle cable at the carb, well there's quite a bit of bike to be removed.

If you take your time and look where the old cable is routed it should work out for you.

Tony
89 GL1500
Tonys96 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-22-2005, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , , Ireland
Posts: 224
Post imported post

Vivian, you will need to remove the saddle, false tank sides, console and side panels. With the tank panels off you will be able to see the cable route. I did mine once and taped the end of the new one to the old one and pulled it down, but it got stuck on a bracket and I had to spend some time fiddling with it. You don't have to remove the carbs to do this job, but if you ever have to replace the choke cable you will have to pull the carbs first.

Al.
BigAl is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-23-2005, 11:47 AM
Member
 
JDuggan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , , Ireland
Posts: 316
Post imported post

Vivian, the bracket Al is talking about has to be the one on the left side of the left carb. You can get a screwdriver to this and pry it open a bit if the cables snag. Its not too hard a job to do, stripping the plastics is the time consuming part.

Joe Duggan
JDuggan is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-30-2005, 09:21 AM
DJ
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quebec, , Canada
Posts: 255
Post imported post

The throttle cables are easy enough to do. The real hard one is the choke cable, you need to pull the carbs back to get at it.
DJ is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-31-2005, 03:04 PM
Older and Wiser
 
BenMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Model: GL1500 Aspencade
Posts: 1,734
Post imported post

I did this job a few years back. Took me about 3 hours from start-finish and I didn't have to pull the carbs out.

Ben.
BenMC is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-01-2005, 02:40 PM
DJ
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quebec, , Canada
Posts: 255
Post imported post

Any updates on this Vivian? I'm sure we aould all like to know how you fared, if you fitted the cable yet.
DJ is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-02-2005, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Vivian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, , Ireland
Posts: 63
Post imported post

I did'nt try any short cuts took off the neccessary panels and body work fairly straight forward but fiddley skint a few knuckles. I hope I dont have to do it again any time soon.

Thanks to everyone for their help and advice

only skydivers know why birds sing
87/88 CBR 1000
89 GL 1500 with sidecar
SHINE ON YOU CRAZY DIAMOND
KEEP IT LIT (JOEY DUNLOP 3)
Vivian is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL1500 throttle cable disaster.. how to get the cable out?? pippomaranga Goldwing Technical Forum 3 05-25-2012 12:06 PM
throttle cable nick83gl Goldwing Technical Forum 1 09-12-2009 11:34 AM
Wanted To Buy-mid Sixties Honda 90 Throttle Cable Assembly; Throttle Cables; Lens dean For Sale/Wanted Forum 0 01-04-2009 03:33 PM
throttle cable junemann Goldwing Technical Forum 5 08-13-2008 09:00 AM
Throttle cable CRAIGA Goldwing Technical Forum 5 10-11-2005 08:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome