starting trouble - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 12:44 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

This is my first time on this forum.From what i have seen it is a welth of knowledge.My problem is i have a 88 1500.It will start fine for awhile maybe a week then all at once it wont start.Just get a clicking sound.Let it set for sometimes a hour other times a day and they its ok for a week again.Have a new battery have put 2 starter solinoids in it and had the starter rebuilt.Iam stumped.Would appricate any help from you gurus.

1988 Wing
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 02:10 PM

Year: 2003
Model: GL1800
Send a message via Yahoo to wexy
Post imported post

sounds like a relay to me ,try swopping the relay with another one of the same value and see will that cure it ,,cheers Ciaran

CIARAN (pronounced Keeron)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yes it is Gaelic
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 02:15 PM

Post imported post

Starter button gets dirty and can cause problems.....Have you tried rocking the swtich as you press it in to see if things will fire up?.....It can be taken apart and cleaned with a contact cleaner solution but it's not for the faint of heart....Sounds like your problem is either there or in a relay in the starter circuit....A good manual would be very helpful in running the problem down....

\'96 GL1500A Pearl Green Trike and
\'86 GL1200 SEI

Gayle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 02:42 PM

Model: None
Post imported post