1975 GL1000 Won't Start - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-23-2006, 06:35 AM Thread Starter

Post imported post

Last month, I took the bike for a ride and it started fine. Since then, I have attempted to start it a couple of tmes and it hasn't started. In those cases, I would the battery down. I have replaced the battery and now the cranking is very good.

While cranking for quite a while with the choke off, I'll get about a half-second burst - almost like the engine wants to start. If I keep cranking, I'll get nothing. If I stop cranking for about 1 - 2 min, I will get a short burst again. Cranking with the choke on doesn't get any action.

I have topped off the gas and added some fuel stabilizer. I have taken emery paper to the plugs. The plugs didn't look too bad, but I'm not an expert. After the second plug sanding, one burst lasted about 1 sec, instead of a half second. Cracking the throttle seemed to add a bit of encouragement. During that burst, some grey smoke came out of the pipes.

I'm at a loss as to what to do next - drain the carbs (perhaps there is dirt in there), replace the plugs (I though emery paper should have done the trick), or... ?

Tom

1975 GL1000
2007 Harley Ultra Classic
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-23-2006, 06:45 AM
Monkey with a Football

Model: Linux, Firewalls & VPNs
Garage
Post imported post

Welcome tmoreau,

Go for the easy stuff first:

Kill switch is not off or bad.

Fuel filter is not clogged.

Plugs wet or dry?

Voltage at the battery when cranking?

Points need cleaning or adjustment?

Coil gone bad?

Do you smell gas when you crank it choked?

Please add your location to your profile so we know whether or not to say Happy Thanksgiving to you.

Rudy

“...and the rabid dog they gave me
wasn't too much fun”
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-23-2006, 06:48 AM

Post imported post