Volt/gear position indicator - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
jimbojive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Granbury, Texas, USA
Posts: 94
Post imported post

this is a repost from the General Motorcycle Discussion Forum >

"Air Rider Volt/gear position indicator"

thought i would try in the Tech Forum

thanks



I was looking at both of these units.
and was wondering what maks them tick?
are they tied to the goldwing's computer ?
or
are they using and external add-on switch.?

$150.00 http://www.davescyclesupply.com/Pictures.asp?Product_ID=754

$199.00 http://www.airrider.com/store/product.php?id=266

White 1997 Goldwing SE 1500
2005 Prostreet RSD Custom 107"
jimbojive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 11:32 AM
Postpubescent member
 
exavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medford, County of Jackson, Oregon, USA
Model: None at present
Posts: 36,382
Post imported post

I believe the input comes from the shift sensor switch. There are wires coming off that for each gear position. When I first got my 1500 replacing my 1200 I missed the gear indicator and thought about buying an aftermarket unit. After riding awhile I decided I didn't need one. The sound of the bike at any given speed pretty well clues one in, and the relationship of the speedo and tach needles give it away too.

Then in fifth gear the speedometer needle will lead or be higher on the scale than the tach. In fourth gear the two needles will be just about parallel on the gauge. In third the tach needle will lead the speedo needle. As for finding first, having a gear indicator in the dash never stopped me from occasionally trying to start out from a stop in second gear anyway. Gotta get into the habit of kicking her all the way down when stopping and then raising the lever into neutral if you want it.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
exavid is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 01:19 PM
Senior Guru
 
Oregonwinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Medford, Oregon, USA
Posts: 4,292
Garage
Post imported post

I believe they calculate the value of speed pulse generator, and compares it with rpm signal. If it's like some readouts I've encountered on logging equipment, it has to be "set up", initially. I believe it'll show neutral, when stopped, even tho it's in gear. I doubt that's all that accurate. I wouldn't bother, myself. I'm with Exavid on this one. Knowing what gear one is in, will become second nature, after some time on bike.

BOB

Knicknacks by Eric of Holland (former LTD rider)

80 Int., 85 Int., 85 LTD, 90/2000 1500, and now a 2006 Nav, Cabernet Red
Oregonwinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
jimbojive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Granbury, Texas, USA
Posts: 94
Post imported post

I don't have a problem nowing what gear I'm in. it is second nature to me .
I'm just wondering how these things work and if they can be homebuilt.
I do want to add a oil presure gauge,volt, and posible amp meter, to my GW.,

so you guys think this is tied into the GW harness somewhere and no a add on switch ?

White 1997 Goldwing SE 1500
2005 Prostreet RSD Custom 107"
jimbojive is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 02:27 PM
Postpubescent member
 
exavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medford, County of Jackson, Oregon, USA
Model: None at present
Posts: 36,382
Post imported post

Nope the gearshift sensor(88-93), called gear position switch from '94 on has the following wires coming out of it:

a. Neutral - light green/red

b.Second -Black/yellow

c. Third - white/red

d. Fourth - red/white

e. Fifth(OD) - green - orange

There is no wire for first gear. As the gears are selected each respective color wire is grounded. You could develop an input for first gear with a simple NOR gate, if none of the switch leads has a ground the transmission has to be in first. It would be pretty easy to tap off a signal from all five wires and drive five LEDs for indicators. You don't really need a numeric readout, five LEDs in a row would be cheap and easy to read. You'd need a high impedance to sample with so you didn't effect the other circuits the switch feeds but that's easy to do.



ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
exavid is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
fatwing chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Coldwater, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,998
Post imported post

Both the adds above say they won't work on the 88-89,do they say that because 90 and up have a plug already wired in.If that is the case then Paul could you not hardwire the new unit into the gearshift sensor on the 88-89?I guess that was a long way of asking if they say it won't fit because it is not plug and play on the early years.I too had it on my 85 Aspy and although I could live without it I kind of got used to it.Got used to looking down sitting at lights just to avoid those second gear starts.

Fatwing Chris
Darkside #1602
Gone Double Dark with a BT45
If I\'d have known it would last this long I would have taken better care of it.
fatwing chris is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 07:32 PM
Postpubescent member
 
exavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medford, County of Jackson, Oregon, USA
Model: None at present
Posts: 36,382
Post imported post

I don't have the manual for the 88-90 but if the switch is the same there's no reason I can see why you couldn't tap into it. Find the switch and check which wires go to ground with an ohm meter when you shift gears and then splice into them. It wouldn't be plug and play but shouldn't be difficult to adapt. Check the number and color of the wires coming off your switch, if they match up it should work.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
None at present
Past 'Wings: GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800

Current BMW C650GT
Paul W.
exavid is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 08:05 PM
Senior Guru
 
Oregonwinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Medford, Oregon, USA
Posts: 4,292
Garage
Post imported post

Here's one I was thinking, and it needs to be programmed. http://www.gear-indicator.com/ That unit could be adapted to a lot of vehicles, as long as there signals for tach, and speedo.

Apparently the air-rider only works on 90-2000, so only the 88, 89 are exempt. Of course, that could be fixed, probably, with a later switch, and some mods.

And as Exavid pointed out, it must have a "nor" gate set-up, to function properly, due to the missing 1 gear wire. So, in 1st there's no wire grounded, so that would be interpreted as first. All wires are grounded by the switch, except 1st. Too bad Honda didn't provide that circuit.

BOB

Knicknacks by Eric of Holland (former LTD rider)

80 Int., 85 Int., 85 LTD, 90/2000 1500, and now a 2006 Nav, Cabernet Red
Oregonwinger is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
fatwing chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Coldwater, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,998
Post imported post

Thanks Paul
I don't have a schematic for my 89 either,will have to wait untill the bike comes back out or I get the proper manual.

Fatwing Chris
Darkside #1602
Gone Double Dark with a BT45
If I\'d have known it would last this long I would have taken better care of it.
fatwing chris is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-13-2007, 09:36 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
jimbojive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Granbury, Texas, USA
Posts: 94
Post imported post

I called http://www.davescyclesupply.com and talked to the guy about his unit.
Very nice man. told me he builds his units.
and that it just ties in to the OEM harness, PNP
with a lifetime warrentee.
but it it doesn't work on the 88-89.

fatwing chris,
you might call Dave's and ask him. Why or what it takes to install one on a 88-89

White 1997 Goldwing SE 1500
2005 Prostreet RSD Custom 107"
jimbojive is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gear position indicator on 87 GL1200A swjones214 Goldwing Technical Forum 17 04-09-2015 12:27 PM
Gear position indicator the Rovin Rev. Goldwing Technical Forum 2 04-29-2012 03:49 PM
Gear Position Indicator SARGE3056 Feedback for Hondas Goldwing Team 25 04-10-2012 02:17 PM
GEAR POSITION INDICATOR SARGE3056 Goldwing Technical Forum 3 01-11-2010 11:29 PM
Air Rider Volt/gear position indicator Goldwinger General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 4 01-12-2007 08:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome