Help! - I've got oil in my gas -or- gas in my oil!?! - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-30-2007, 11:26 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

Hi Everyone - I've been away from the forum for most of the winter due to some tough family challanges and I've been starting up a new business... things have settled down now, and the business is going pretty well. Spring is here and so is the bug to get outdoors and start riding again. Here's my problem...

Through the spring, summer and fall of last year I was working at restoring an 83' Aspencade that I had taken in as payment on a job that I couldn't collect on otherwise - the bike had been sitting unridden for 10 to 12 years with gas in the tank, bald tires, dry-rotted rubber, and all of the rest. I took my time and went through most of it, replacing or repairing as needed and money allowed. All the while getting a great motorcycle eduction on this fine forum.

I'm no expert - but with confidence gained from you guys and your expertise, I undertook a full carburetor rebuild, it all seemed to go really well, and so with shiney new parts and everything cleaned and looking spiffy, I put gas in the tank and hit the starter (Old, original starter that is) nothin happened. I went to pull the starter a couple of days later and when I did... gas came running out of the starter opening! Seems one of the floats was stuck and gas had been running down into the cylinders and into the case.