What amperage does the 7V reg produce? - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-19-2007, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Posts: 160
Post imported post






I've built a reg from parts from work and its not working properly!


I've got it putting out 7v, but only 1.2 amps. How much amperage does the gauge need? I know my gauge works, but not with this current setup?

GL1200 LTD
Manhattan KS
smocksam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-19-2007, 08:45 AM
Monkey with a Football
 
Rudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: With VPN, anywhere
Model: Linux, Firewalls & VPNs
Posts: 19,229
Garage
Post imported post

The regulators are one amp regulators so it has to be less than that.
I would recommend the fixed 3 terminal, 1 amp TO-220 regulators (7807) over the variable regulators because they are simpler, can't get out of adjustment and won't drift over wide ambient temperature ranges.






Rudy

“...and the rabid dog they gave me
wasn't too much fun”
Rudy is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-19-2007, 08:57 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Posts: 160
Post imported post

Thanks! I just needed to get that info so I can look for parts at work! I work at a place building aircraft electronics so we have a huge inventory of components available. I just need to search the database and find if we have anything that can meet my needs!


GL1200 LTD
Manhattan KS
smocksam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-19-2007, 09:07 AM
Monkey with a Football
 
Rudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: With VPN, anywhere
Model: Linux, Firewalls & VPNs
Posts: 19,229
Garage
Post imported post

Get your buyers to sample you some industrial temp 7807's. It's a common part but the voltage is not one that gets stocked a lot.

The whole 7800 series is a common with different prefixes as in LM-7807. This will vary per manufacturer.

Don't confuse them with the 7900 series which is the same thing in a negative voltage.

As I stated earlier, I'm not a fan of the more available LM-317-T series or any other adjustable regulator in a hostile environment.








Rudy

“...and the rabid dog they gave me
wasn't too much fun”
Rudy is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-05-2007, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Posts: 160
Post imported post

I'm dumb! I started another topic thinking I'd not posted about it!! DUMB ME!

Anyhow...


I've built a reg from parts from work and its not working properly!


I've got it putting out 7v, but only 1.2 amps. How much amperage does the gauge need? I know my gauge works, but not with this current setup?

GL1200 LTD
Manhattan KS
smocksam is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-05-2007, 08:03 PM
Monkey with a Football
 
Rudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: With VPN, anywhere
Model: Linux, Firewalls & VPNs
Posts: 19,229
Garage
Post imported post

smocksam wrote:
Quote:
I'm dumb! I started another topic thinking I'd not posted about it!! DUMB ME!

Anyhow...


I've built a reg from parts from work and its not working properly!


I've got it putting out 7v, but only 1.2 amps. How much amperage does the gauge need? I know my gauge works, but not with this current setup?
I guess your gauges probably pull no more than 1/2 amp. The reason I say this is that the original reg was 1 amp with a crappy heat sink and it ran fairly hot.

My experience would be that I would guess that it was drawing between 400 and 800 milliamps to heat like that with that regulator with that heat sink mass.






Rudy

“...and the rabid dog they gave me
wasn't too much fun”
Rudy is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-05-2007, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Posts: 160
Post imported post

Hrm.... I wonder what I've got going wrong then.

I've got 7v and 1.2 amps, but my gauges weren't moving??? I'll have to play with it some more tomorrow and see what I can see.



GL1200 LTD
Manhattan KS
smocksam is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-2007, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Posts: 160
Post imported post

I got to thinking about it and before I started messing with my gauges, I'd just hooked an alkaline 9v battery to the gauge and it moved it. So this reg I've built should be more than ample.

I'm wondering if my darned gauge or sending unit failed when the last reg did? I'll have to pull out the meter tomorrow and start checking. I'd hope it was the gauge and not the sending unit, that thing looks like a bear to replace!


GL1200 LTD
Manhattan KS
smocksam is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-2007, 07:02 PM
Monkey with a Football
 
Rudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: With VPN, anywhere
Model: Linux, Firewalls & VPNs
Posts: 19,229
Garage
Post imported post

smocksam wrote:
Quote:
I got to thinking about it and before I started messing with my gauges, I'd just hooked an alkaline 9v battery to the gauge and it moved it. So this reg I've built should be more than ample.

I'm wondering if my darned gauge or sending unit failed when the last reg did? I'll have to pull out the meter tomorrow and start checking. I'd hope it was the gauge and not the sending unit, that thing looks like a bear to replace!
It's easy to see that you have 7v.

How do you know you have 1.2 amps?

Are you measuring current while in circuit? If you are and you see 1.2 amps, are you also seeing 7v under load at the same time?

Does the 9v batt still move the guages?







Rudy

“...and the rabid dog they gave me
wasn't too much fun”
Rudy is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-2007, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Whiskerfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Posts: 2,848
Post imported post

Actually the sending unit is very simple to replace. Hardest part is pulling the seat.

Sounds to me like you need to start chasing wires and such. It is a very simple system and if you work on Avionics then it should be extremely easy to troubleshoot. The sending unit is nothing but a variable resistor that drops the 7 volts "in" to indicate what ever level the fuel is.

Whiskerfish
2008 GL1800 Base

1978/9 Dressed daily rider 45k miles

1975 Nekid Noisy and Nasty
1975 Nekid in pieces parts
Whiskerfish is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! LTD voltage reg Psalmist Goldwing Technical Forum 26 12-02-2010 07:10 PM
need stator and reg blake44130 For Sale/Wanted Forum 5 01-06-2010 04:26 PM
Higher amperage alternators for GL1500 RonBrugger Goldwing Technical Forum 24 02-09-2009 05:13 PM
Could a bad 7v Reg fry the main reg? smocksam Goldwing Technical Forum 1 08-19-2007 12:08 PM
Key Off - Amperage XCLR8N Goldwing Technical Forum 17 02-12-2006 11:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome