Dogbone fuse and stator - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-03-2008, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
FinallygotmyGoldwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Posts: 121
Post imported post

Ok got my new starter relay on order without the dogbone fuse. This one has a 20amp in it with a 30 amp fuse if I want. I'm guessing cause the dogbone is a 30 I should use the 30.

And there was some mention about rewiring the stator. Cannot remember what the deal was though. Could someone elaborate?

It's an 81 1100i.
FinallygotmyGoldwing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-03-2008, 07:57 PM
Member
 
bagman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 279
Post imported post

Rewiring the stator involves the harness plug with 3 yellow wires. It usually melts from the high stator load or output combined with poor connection. Basically you cut the plug out and solder the each of three wiresto the matchingother one. Make sure you place heat shrink tubing over these connections and insulate really well. The white connector is on the left side under the false fuel tank.

The dogbone fuse should be 30amps. You can adapt an automotive 30A Maxi fuse to fit into the holder. Simply drill out the blades to match theholder.

Bagman51 (Bob)
81 GL1100i
bagman51 is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL1500 Dogbone Fuse Speedbird Goldwing Technical Forum 9 06-12-2012 06:46 PM
'82 1100 Dogbone Fuse Replacement OldSchool_IsCool Goldwing Technical Forum 19 01-27-2012 09:41 PM
Replacing dogbone fuse 1500 jbossman73 Goldwing Technical Forum 6 07-25-2010 06:22 AM
That darn dogbone fuse (Gl1200) rgbeard Goldwing Technical Forum 8 06-19-2009 01:34 PM
Replacing the Dogbone fuse 4evermetric Goldwing Technical Forum 47 02-23-2008 12:03 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome