GL 1800 CB error - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Glen Rose, Texas, USA
Posts: 2
Post imported post

Yesterday I got on my 2002 1800 to go on a group ride and got a blinking
message on the screen which said "CB ERROR". Not a sound, stereo works fine.
Anyone have this problem before??

Later,
Steve
254.396.0628
'02 1800
'96 1500 trike (For Sale)
GWRRA#288806
Stevie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 12:03 PM
Honda Guru
 
rayworx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jackson, California, USA
Year: 1988
Make: Honda GoldWing
Model: 88 GL1500
Posts: 2,009
Post imported post

Yes... the most common cause is during installation the wrong plug is used under the seat.



If the CB has been in for awhile the most common thing would be a loose conntection either under the seat or in the wiring under the right fairing plastic.



There is the possiblity that the CB is faulty..... I saw one once that had been drowned in water. The bottled water that was left in the rear trunk, the lidhad been left loose and the water spilled all over the trunk. Since there's no where for the water to go it flooded and ruined the CB unit. From that point on, when ever I installed a CB I would drill at least 2 holes ( @ 1/4" diameter) in the left side of the bottom of the trunk. That 'll allow water to drain.

Ray
88 GL1500
rayworx is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lexington, South Carolina, USA
Posts: 5,502
Post imported post

Most likely the transmit switch. The bikes sit for a bit an the switch will not make connection.

Move it around about a hundred times, it will start working.


Kit

The 1800 is my bike. The very best motorcycle ever made. I was enthralled with my first test ride on this machine. It is a great bike. A crotch rocket with storage bags.............As for oil I use the slick kind, and I like round tires, but as of late I have found square ones work best on the rear. Pirelli Eufori 195/55/16 @ 32 PSI
Kit
Kit Carson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 06:52 PM
Member
 
jmcannonball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Posts: 212
Post imported post

I have gotten a CB error a couple times also. Don't remember exactly what I did, but either turning it off, or turning the ignition off seemed to clear the error.

Current bikes:
2005 GL1800
1988 GL1500 Trike (the Wife)
1966 74 cu in FLH Electraglide Harley Davidson Shovelhead

Previous bikes:
1979 GL1000 - 53,000 miles
1981 GL1100 - 45,000 miles
1987 GL1200 - 57,000 miles
1990 GL1500 SE - 235,000 miles
2000 750cc Honda Shadow (the Wife)
2003 1600cc Yamaha Road Star (the Wife)

Rode all 50 states

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jmcannonball is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Glen Rose, Texas, USA
Posts: 2
Post imported post

Checked the connections under the seat and tried some contact cleaner in the send switch without luck. Looked at the CB and there is no signs of water damage. That suggestion freaked me out because I also didn't know the CB was under the truck and I know there was a bottle of water in there but it turned out it was never opened.I'm wondering if it couldantennalost its ground???

Later,
Steve
254.396.0628
'02 1800
'96 1500 trike (For Sale)
GWRRA#288806

Stevie is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-07-2010, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lexington, South Carolina, USA
Posts: 5,502
Post imported post

Trouble shooting the CB is not an exact science. All any of us can do is guess. It is not discussed in the manual, and I myself certainly am not a radio or electronics type person.

You can take the ground strap off the inside where the antenna bolts to the trunk and clean it. Put a star washer there too if you want.

Most likely though it is a pin connector. Not making contact as some point . You have to check past them each wire for continuity with a meter to rule out if they are making contact or not.

A bad unit will also give you this error message. So all you can do is make sure you have power, continuity through all the wires, good connections and good ground. If you have all that, then it is the unit.

Kit

The 1800 is my bike. The very best motorcycle ever made. I was enthralled with my first test ride on this machine. It is a great bike. A crotch rocket with storage bags.............As for oil I use the slick kind, and I like round tires, but as of late I have found square ones work best on the rear. Pirelli Eufori 195/55/16 @ 32 PSI
Kit
Kit Carson is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2010, 07:02 AM
Paid Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Troy, Oh., The Villages, Fl. USA
Model: 2015GL,2008GL,2000 Valk
Posts: 680
Post imported post

Since I see this error quite often on older 1800's or ones that have been in storage and that have had the CB installed and working properly for some time and then the error shows up. The problem has been a battery that is going bad or not up to full charge.
The reason for the error is that the CB is already turned on and the engine is started which causes the voltage to drop on the processor and thus the error message. The way to test this is to turn CB off and then start the engine and run it for a few minutes and then turn CB on.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Wayne


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wayne is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-08-2010, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
nsjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800A
Posts: 1,572
Post imported post

That's good to know Wayne. Thanks.

Joe
Darksider #493

Former bikes:
\'80 CB750 Custom
\'86 GL1200 Interstate

nsjoe is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL 1800 CB goes to Error while riding h1500cc Goldwing Technical Forum 4 10-17-2011 11:21 AM
2001 Golwing 1800 F1 Error code 19 basilmulkey Goldwing Technical Forum 8 08-19-2011 12:10 AM
1800 cb error message on readout chili Goldwing Technical Forum 5 10-04-2010 06:52 AM
Speedometer Error on the 1500 and 1800 Daveo General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 36 12-08-2008 03:14 PM
1800 Sppedometer Error griz440 General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 4 08-19-2008 08:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome