ELECTRICAL PROBLEM GL1500SE - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 03:36 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MINTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Norwich, , United Kingdom
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 55
Post imported post

Guys, I have a problem and I hope you can help....

My Wing, 1500se, sat over winter, fromjust before Christmas when the snow started until last Friday when the sun came out. Charged battery, cleaned it, started it, all fineand then rode itabout 80 miles with a couple of stops. Next morning, sun out again, startedno problem, rode about 90 miles, stopped for half hour, set off again, 8 or 9 miles later, complete electrical failure, while stillmoving (approx 20mph). Checked battery conections,main fuse and all the fuses in the fuse box, all ok. 15 minutes later turned ignition on, all worked, turned it off toring and cancel the breakdown man, turned it on, nothing!!!!

When the man arrived with his truck to take me home, it started, he took me home anyway saying he didn't want to strip it down in the road looking for a intermittant fault. Left it over night and the next day, tried it again, started fine, flicked the ignition switch on/off several times, off it went, 10-15 minutes later, ping, on it came. I have not been out on it, but I've left it running for half hour, left it on (but not running) for half hour, all fine. Last night, started it fine, ran for 45 minutes fine, turned it on and off several times, ping, off it went, stripped all the panals off, checked conections, fuses etc all ok and then, ping on it came, no fine again.

Ican't figure out what would be causing it....Help any one....Please.

And he said, let there be light, no not that much, damm Goldwing riders.....
MINTY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 03:44 AM
Senior Member
 
divie1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sunderland, , United Kingdom
Posts: 4,573
Post imported post

It sounds like your banking switch is a fault it is hidden away behind the right
hand box mounted to the frame

(This switch is to cut the bikes electrics off after a spill)

Just a thought you can bypass this switch too!!!!

Life is good, well almost!!!!


A stranger is friend you have yet to meet.
divie1066 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 03:52 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MINTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Norwich, , United Kingdom
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 55
Post imported post

Thanks divie1066, would that cause a problem even when on the main stand if it was breaking down?

And he said, let there be light, no not that much, damm Goldwing riders.....
MINTY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-24-2010, 04:09 AM
Senior Member
 
divie1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sunderland, , United Kingdom
Posts: 4,573
Post imported post

The banking switch cuts off electrical power in a spill sometimes they break down
and the slightest vibration will knock the eclectics out I have had this on a 1500
I owned just sitting there on the centre stand a little rubble and she would switch off
They is away to bypass it but I have know idea how to do it an auto electrician friend of
mine did it till I located a second hand one.

Life is good, well almost!!!!


A stranger is friend you have yet to meet.
divie1066 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 03:13 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MINTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Norwich, , United Kingdom
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 55
Post imported post

Well hello again. I have spent a few hours in the garage and have still not sorted the problem. I have checked the back sensor and that seems to be working fine.

I have done the shake test on the bike, I have done the tip test off the bike, and it all comes back on with a turn off/on of the key.


I dont think it is the sensor as it doesn't cut enough power,sensor only seems to cut the ignition where asI get a complete black out...lights, starter, ignition, hazards the lot, any more idea's anyone?????


And he said, let there be light, no not that much, damm Goldwing riders.....
MINTY is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 05:24 AM
mod-erator
 
DaveO430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amity, Arkansas, USA
Model: 2010 GL1800
Posts: 24,192
Garage
Post imported post

It may be the ignition switch. Try wiggling the key to see if it will cut on and off.

With no God over the state, the state then becomes not the defender of liberty but the definer of liberty.


NRA endowment life member
Wild Rhino Arkansas chapter
2010 1800 pearl yellow

If I disagree with you it's simply because you're wrong.
DaveO430 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 05:50 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MINTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Norwich, , United Kingdom
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 55
Post imported post

Hi Dave 0430, I have tried that and it made no differance. Sometimes if I turn it on and off loads of times something clicks off and I get complete nothing, then after a period of time, click it all comes back to life..??

And he said, let there be light, no not that much, damm Goldwing riders.....
MINTY is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 07:01 AM
Monkey with a Football
 
Rudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: With VPN, anywhere
Model: Linux, Firewalls & VPNs
Posts: 19,229
Garage
Post imported post

See if the main fuse is cracked. Take it out and check it.




Rudy

“...and the rabid dog they gave me
wasn't too much fun”
Rudy is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 08:21 AM
Member
 
oinoyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: EDEN NORTH CAROLINA, , USA
Posts: 185
Post imported post

try changing the relays around in the relay box----just unpluging and repluging them insures a good connection--this has worked for me on several 1500 with this very same problem--poor connection on a relay

Good Friends and Family are like Butt Cheeks--
Crap may seperate them but they always come back together---Member NC-W
oinoyou is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2010, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MINTY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Norwich, , United Kingdom
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 55
Post imported post

Well tonight I will be trying WD40 in the ignition followed by lots of key jiggling, main fuse replacement, but I have already shuffled the relays, but no harm in doing it again (but not at the same time). Thanks for the advise, I'll post on Monday with update.

And he said, let there be light, no not that much, damm Goldwing riders.....
MINTY is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'97 GL1500SE Clock problem... ghostvet Goldwing Technical Forum 13 05-26-2012 06:19 PM
New tire install causing electrical issues on GL1500SE charz Goldwing Technical Forum 12 05-04-2010 02:08 PM
Lost All Electrical, GL1500SE eds1500SE Goldwing Technical Forum 5 04-12-2010 12:12 AM
Electrical Falure on GL1500SE Wickla Goldwing Technical Forum 12 01-23-2010 09:26 PM
GL1500SE Electrical Schematic donwiley Goldwing Technical Forum 3 02-06-2008 05:23 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome