GL1200 fuel pump RELAY test - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 12:09 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

newby- just bought 84 1200 driving home(100miles) maxed at 68mph. worked through fuel filter(new)air filter(new) plugs(new) plugs checked and are firing nice blue spark. did pump test cold and warm 800+ml. still no power on road and a bit of backfiring but not excessive. i checked the relay per the forum research but there is continuity from the white wire to ground with the sw. off and on(with the relay plugged in and not plugged in). with the engine idling there is pulsing continuity. with the relay disconnected there is still continuity from white to ground. if this is a test of the relay and i already have continuity from the wht. wire to groundhow does plugging the relay into the circuit test it? i'm not a good mechanic and this is my first large bike. i hope to figure this out without taking it in for service. carbs rebuilt 08' by previous owner. new plug wires last yr.

btw is an off the shelf relay available? or just go honda?

"the clock talks loud".
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 12:19 PM

Post imported post

You might try this thread https://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/forum1/88348.html it ended up being the diaphragms put in the carbs the wrong way. My guess is you are pumping fuel or you would never get to 68mph. There may be some question to how much fuel you are pumping. My guess is the relay is fine.

03 Honda XR650L
84 GL1200 Aspencade

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 12:39 PM

Post imported post

As you've probably noticed, the pump only works with the engine cranking on the starter or actually running. If it is giving a good output from the pump it sounds further into the carbs.

Steve W
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-25-2010, 01:14 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post