Blinking CB Error message on dash - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Posts: 111
Post imported post

Yesterday I had a new Honda line CB radio installed at the dealership. When I turn on the CB I get a blinking dash message saying CB Error. Took it back to the dealership and they took a new CB radio from stock and wired it through the trikes wiring harness and got the same message. Any of you with a honda CB had the same problem? If so, what was causing it?





Thanks.



BTW, the dealership gave me this to ride, but it not a wing.





Old, but old is better than the alternative
Comanche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 09:59 PM
Honda Guru
 
rayworx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jackson, California, USA
Year: 1988
Make: Honda GoldWing
Model: 88 GL1500
Posts: 2,008
Post imported post

There's two connectors under the seat that the plug from the CB can plug into. One has 2 wires... one has 3 wires. The dealer could have plugged it into the wrong one.

Ray
88 GL1500
rayworx is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Posts: 111
Post imported post

Thanks, they installed a headlight modulator at the same time. I ha hoping that something is mis-connected. I will pass on you're comments to them.

Old, but old is better than the alternative
Comanche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-16-2010, 12:06 AM
Senior Member
 
William_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tampico, , Mexico
Year: 1999
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500 Aspencade
Posts: 4,379
Garage
Post imported post

enjoy that triumph, its a very nice bike to ride =)
William_86 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-2010, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Posts: 111
Post imported post

Unfortunately, they told me my amp was bad. Known them for a very long time and they took an amp out of a new wing and put it in for me. Expensive, yes, but I got to go on my trip to Arkansas with my friends.

Old, but old is better than the alternative
Comanche is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-2010, 05:04 PM
Passed On, R.I.P.
 
Bagmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Jonesville, South Carolina, USA
Posts: 10,509
Post imported post

Comanche wrote:
Quote:
Unfortunately, they told me my amp was bad. Known them for a very long time and they took an amp out of a new wing and put it in for me. Expensive, yes, but I got to go on my trip to Arkansas with my friends.
But did that fix the problem? Also I love that loaner bike!! Remember those from my teen years.

Michael
Too much chrome to polish, too little time!!
Have trailer, will travel!! Not all Wingers are old Wingers.

PGR member. Riding in memory of my father, Clyde D. Ward, USN. WWII

Myself, USN, Vietnam Vet. 68-72, 74-76
VF-194 aboard the USS. Oriskany
USS Saratoga, ships company

-----------------------------------
Bagmaster, our former forum Toolmaster and friend, is no longer with us. He passed away in February 2012.

The roads and byways, no matter how beautiful and exhilarating, are a lonelier place now. RIP Bagmaster (Baggy).
-----------------------------------
Bagmaster is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-2010, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Posts: 111
Post imported post

Yeah, throwing money at a bike usually fixes most things.

CB and all audio work like a champ. I get nearly three mile transmission distance on the CB. Most get less than 1/2 mile.

Old, but old is better than the alternative
Comanche is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-2010, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Posts: 111
Post imported post

Yeah, throwing money at a bike usually fixes most things.

CB and all audio work like a champ. I get nearly three mile transmission distance on the CB. Most get less than 1/2 mile.

Old, but old is better than the alternative
Comanche is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blinking digital dash display on 86 aspencade deputyb Goldwing Technical Forum 1 10-14-2011 05:42 PM
CB Error Message, GL1800 sermat Goldwing Technical Forum 6 12-18-2010 07:45 AM
1800 cb error message on readout chili Goldwing Technical Forum 5 10-04-2010 06:52 AM
83 Aspencade blinking dash davidl626 Goldwing Technical Forum 8 09-15-2010 08:58 PM
Error Message 2wings Miscellaneous Forum 47 04-02-2008 12:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome