Cruise Control set switch - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
jodell2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lima, Ohio, USA
Posts: 34
Post imported post

Having an issue with my cruise control set switch. After turning the system on, for a while the set switch would work intermintedly, but now I can push it in and it does not set at any speed. Any ideas what my problem might be? Thanks for your input.

John L. O\'Dell Jr.
jodell2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 01:25 PM
Moderator
 
Bike...and Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Model: 1987 GL1200 Interstate 290,000 miles
Posts: 21,725
Post imported post

Check the brake light switches to make sure they are not locked on. It is very common on the rear. Also, check the cruise interlock switches. They are next to the brake switches.

If the switches are all working correctly, try cleaning the cruise set switch with some WD-40.

Why ain't we ridin'?
Bike...and Dennis is online now  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
jodell2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lima, Ohio, USA
Posts: 34
Post imported post

So this switch can be taken apart and cleaned? Very easy to do?

John L. O\'Dell Jr.
jodell2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 02:37 PM
Anti-Guru
 
satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Model: '06 GL1800
Posts: 2,711
Post imported post

You can spray the switch with some contac cleaner (radio Shack offers some) -- but as Bike...and Dennis posts above, it's more likley to be one of the other switches --

You mention this behavior of the set switch being intermittant -- Did your cruise ever shut-off (disengage) for no apparant reason once you had it set ?
satan is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 1,137
Post imported post

jodell2 wrote:
Quote:
Having an issue with my cruise control set switch. After turning the system on, for a while the set switch would work intermintedly, but now I can push it in and it does not set at any speed. Any ideas what my problem might be? Thanks for your input.
http://www.goldwingworld.com/pages/cruisecontrol.htm



Use this to try & diagonise your problem. I had the same problem & following the above instructions I found outthe micro switch for the front brake was out of alinement.....-Rich
Redeye1620 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
jodell2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lima, Ohio, USA
Posts: 34
Post imported post

yes it has shut off on its own

John L. O\'Dell Jr.
jodell2 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 03:14 PM
Moderator
 
Bike...and Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Model: 1987 GL1200 Interstate 290,000 miles
Posts: 21,725
Post imported post

All the switches can be cleaned. The switch housing should be opened up to clean the set switch properly, but you shouldn't have to open the switch up unless there is a mechanical problem, like a weak spring.

Some people just spray that switch from the outside with some success. The switches by the foot brake would be the first thing I look at. 95% of the time that's where I find any cruise control problem I'm having. The brake light switch is just a weak link.

Why ain't we ridin'?
Bike...and Dennis is online now  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 03:15 PM
Anti-Guru
 
satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Model: '06 GL1800
Posts: 2,711
Post imported post

The Link in Redeye's post is a good resource... Give that a go to see if you can narrow-down the failure.

I'm not certain as to why, but I usually suspect the clutch-switch first (try setting your cruise as you push "out" on your clutch lever...) -- there's a brass pivot bushing in the clutch hand-lever that pushes on the Clutch Master Cylinder push-rod... that bushing wears through, if not regularly lubricated causing the clutch lever to not push out far enough to actuate the clutch's cruise interlock switch... Like I said, I'm not sure why I look there first, but it does seem to be a predictable issue.
satan is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Robin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Alicante, , Spain
Posts: 815
Post imported post

Dont forget the clutch lever.

I had to press open either clutch or front brake lever for the cruise to activate.

Long and distant past. CB175, CB400/4, GL1000, 2 GL1100\'s & GL1200 Aspencade.

Then kids came along
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Burgman 200 (2007-2009)
BMW RT1150RT (that was awful to ride but pretty) (in 2008).
Burgman 650 Exec from jan 2009 till july 2010.
Got an old but good 1500 SE 1992 in Aug 2010.
Currently wingless.
Robin is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: stoke on trent, , United Kingdom
Posts: 104
Post imported post

hi do the turn signals cancel on their own does the audio noise increase with speed and does the speedo work fine all will affect the cruise control switch
discodavecool is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot set Cruise Control CouchWing Goldwing Technical Forum 26 09-30-2015 09:15 PM
cruise control will activate but cannot set speed GL1200 SEi nynfngrs Goldwing Technical Forum 4 06-22-2012 07:09 PM
Lost my Cruise Control, Won't set. 88 1500 Chromo Goldwing Technical Forum 6 08-17-2011 06:41 PM
WTB Switch set, start, stop, cruise gladmaker For Sale/Wanted Forum 1 07-14-2011 02:10 AM
Cruise Control Will not Set Sandman27 Goldwing Technical Forum 8 03-24-2007 05:55 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome