Auxiliary input connector, GL1500? - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
KB9VBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern , Indiana, USA
Model: 1989 GL1500
Posts: 175
Post imported post

Can any one tell me if this looks right! Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg phpZKXCKjPM.jpg (30.2 KB, 131 views)
KB9VBT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
KB9VBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern , Indiana, USA
Model: 1989 GL1500
Posts: 175
Post imported post

Another pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg php9wGqWkPM.jpg (100.6 KB, 125 views)
KB9VBT is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 05:26 PM
It aint rocket science
 
DriverRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Model: The best
Posts: 3,798
Post imported post

Hard to tell from the pic. It does look like a low voltage DC power plug.

JD

J.D.

There is NO substitute for experience
I'll be around when I come around and not before
Internet myth buster

Starter ride
Rupp
Previous rides
Bultaco
Yamaha 360
Yamaha 650
WS Grand Chapter CT
If local and need help with a 1500, Valkyrie or ST repair please PM
DriverRider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
KB9VBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern , Indiana, USA
Model: 1989 GL1500
Posts: 175
Post imported post

DriverRider wrote:
Quote:
Hard to tell from the pic. It does look like a 12V DC power plug.

JD
Never thought about that! It's in the area of the auxiliary plug but I never had one apart to see what it should look like!
KB9VBT is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Larry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hernando, Florida, USA
Year: 1999
Make: Honda
Model: 99 1500 SE
Posts: 903
Garage
Post imported post

I would put a VOM on the job and find out it there is any kind of voltage on the plug.

Larry

Retired, Lazy, Broke, and riding the Wing every day that I aint out fishin!
Larry is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Wyo Winger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Posts: 55
Post imported post

Larry22935 wrote:
Quote:
I would put a VOM on the job and find out it there is any kind of voltage on the plug.
+1. Looks like a DC power plug for some accessory.

Wyo Winger
Wyo Winger is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2011, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
KB9VBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern , Indiana, USA
Model: 1989 GL1500
Posts: 175
Post imported post

Showing 10.5 volts with the switch on! Guess I need to find time to take the side of the faring off and trace the wires better!
KB9VBT is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2011, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Luxo2r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Carolina & Texas
Model: GL1800 - 2002
Posts: 325
Send a message via Yahoo to Luxo2r
Post imported post

It is a power line for maybe a radar detector or cell phone or something of the sort. I would think it is an add on from a previous owner as I don't recall any 1500 coming from mother honda with sometning like that.

Al B
How many wrenches can one man own? Don\'t ask silly questions!

GWRRA Life Member #15513
Former MSF Instructor
Mason - Shriner - 2B1ASK1
American Legion SAL Post #166

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Thanks to all those who served.
Luxo2r is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2011, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Webtrack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Posts: 367
Send a message via Yahoo to Webtrack
Post imported post

Definitely something that a PO has added. I'm surprised it didn't read 12v as I don't see anything that would reduce/regulate it.
Webtrack is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2011, 11:20 AM
Member
 
KC9KAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Holland, Indiana, USA
Posts: 414
Post imported post

Webtrack wrote:
Quote:
Definitely something that a PO has added. I'm surprised it didn't read 12v as I don't see anything that would reduce/regulate it.
Could have a resistor wired in near the actual connection to (12VDC) power, or even a "bad" connection.
KC9KAS is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aux input jack connector, GL1800 reefkeep Goldwing Technical Forum 12 06-01-2014 03:06 PM
Auxiliary input patch cord, GL1800 Brent Stuart Goldwing Technical Forum 4 08-30-2012 08:26 AM
Auxiliary input connector? KB9VBT Goldwing Technical Forum 1 05-29-2010 09:03 AM
I'm looking for the AUX Audio input cable and connector. 95 1500 SE Twomoons Goldwing Technical Forum 16 06-02-2008 10:56 PM
Finding The Auxiliary Audio Connector sixt5 Goldwing Technical Forum 6 07-02-2006 04:30 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome