My 1982 GL1100i refresh - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 12:12 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

Instead of posting a dozen posts like I had been, ill just be posting what I am doing to my bike in this thread. Im not a mechanic and many people have already asked my wtf im doing tearing this thing down when it would probably run as it were, besides the brakes. Well I wanted a bike to take apart and learn some of the systems on it as I put it back together. Maybe I was just bored, I dunno, but Im in deep now so Im going to keep at it. I would not have even bought this bike if it were not for the help on this forum. I was looking last year and unfortunately had to pass on probably a much better 85 limited that was near me. Anyways, this is the bike I have now, I also have a ural and a little ninja 250 so I dont have to rush this thing in order to ride around. Also just had our first kid last month so progress may be slow. My Objective is to tear the bike down as far as I can, and then have you guys tell me what all I need to repair/replace/maintenance as I put it back together. Even if it doesnt need done, Id like to do it, ie head gaskets, wheel bearings, carb cleaning? Then Id like to put the bike back together, cleaning everything I can to make it look as good as possible. I dont know thing one about painting so I guess thats out, except maybe stuff that I can rattle can or brush on like the calipers. Here I go, hopefully I havent messed it up already!
Here it is when I first got it.