GL1500 changing audio switch housing??? 1989 gl1500 - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 05:46 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
bigbadbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: lincoln, , United Kingdom
Model: goldwing gl1500 1989 trike
Posts: 19
Garage
GL1500 changing audio switch housing??? 1989 gl1500

Hi all
I have a query about the radio switch housing on my 1989 gl1500?? i have posted about this problem before and got a few grateful replys all suggesting useing contact cleaner to free up the mute switch, but it seems to me that the mute switch was never stuck at all, but broken inside the housing!! as it was very easy to push in but it would never click and stay in place, just pop straight out as soon as i let go of it, so now it's stuck in mute permanately.
My question is the switch housing on my wing has three switches, one for mute, one for program tune, and one for channel change, but i can change channels on the main radio console!!.
the thing is i have seen one on ebay for a 1989 wing but it only has the mute, and programm tune switches on it, would the be a problem doing a straight swap over, or would i have to stick with the same configeration???.
Any replys would be great, mark
bigbadbilly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 09:02 AM
The Irish Crew
 
FitzAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Model: GL1100 Interstate
Posts: 3,932
The 1989 switch assembly should be identical for all gl1500s in all countries. Some have the optional CB PTT lever, which is a separate switch.

Alan Fitzpatrick.
FitzAl is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 09:28 AM
Just another ORF!
 
Dusty Boots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada
Model: 92 1500 Aspencade
Posts: 8,189
Garage
More than likely a broken spring inside of your unit.

It would help if you had a photo of the switch

Here is a shot of mine, which is on a 92 Aspencade. Does this look like the one on EBay you are looking at?

I don't know the difference of the switches between those on an Aspencade, or on a SE or on the earlier Wings such as yours, made before the introduction of the 3 models





You can get them new from the dealer for < $40 US (Part # 17 in this diagram)



Dusty

1992 1500 Aspencade - 213,178 showing on the clock

- just another Rider
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



"anyone can go fast on a straightaway" - Dusty Boots

Dusty Boots is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 10:10 AM
Still Learning
 
newday777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milford NH & Oceanside CA(N San Diego)SoCal USA
Model: 2008 GL1800 Level 4
Posts: 13,270
Garage
Did you try WD40 first before the electrical contact cleaner. I have found that to help on a couple bikes to free up the switch properly. And then follow with several more applications over the next few weeks. These will get working but need lots of attention from lack of preventative maintenance.

Stu
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

John 14:6 Psalm 118:19-29
CMA Wings of Eagles-Escondido, Patriot Guard Ryder
+2008 Cabernet Red ABS/Airbag bought 6/2013 @16,000
+1983 ASPENCADE Barn find @36,000 to be sold
+1976 CB750K6 @25,000 was Dad's
Previous bikes
-1999 GL1500 ASPENCADE Red Sold barn find restored
-1999 GL1500 SE(@57k)(totaled by cagger @105,000) Feb 2013
-76 CB750K Red(new) sold @ 45k
-75 CB750K Blue(new) 9,000 mi Before cousin totaled it.
74 CB450 Burnt Orange(new) 9,000 miles sold
newday777 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
bigbadbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: lincoln, , United Kingdom
Model: goldwing gl1500 1989 trike
Posts: 19
Garage
[QUOTE=Dusty Boots;1703810]More than likely a broken spring inside of your unit.

It would help if you had a photo of the switch

Here is a shot of mine, which is on a 92 Aspencade. Does this look like the one on EBay you are looking at?

I don't know the difference of the switches between those on an Aspencade, or on a SE or on the earlier Wings such as yours, made before the introduction of the 3 models





You can get them new from the dealer for < $40 US (Part # 17 in this diagram)



Dusty[/QUOTE

hi the switch that i have seen on ebay is the same as the one the you have identified in you picture, the only difference is my switches sit ontop of the switch gear where your J&M UNIT IS
bigbadbilly is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
bigbadbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: lincoln, , United Kingdom
Model: goldwing gl1500 1989 trike
Posts: 19
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by FitzAl View Post
The 1989 switch assembly should be identical for all gl1500s in all countries. Some have the optional CB PTT lever, which is a separate switch.
Hi thanks for your reply
my switch gear doesn't have the optional CB PTT lever, it all sits ontop of the other switches. I'll try and upload some pics, but i seem to be having problems with that too!!!!
bigbadbilly is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-23-2012, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
bigbadbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: lincoln, , United Kingdom
Model: goldwing gl1500 1989 trike
Posts: 19
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by newday777 View Post
Did you try WD40 first before the electrical contact cleaner. I have found that to help on a couple bikes to free up the switch properly. And then follow with several more applications over the next few weeks. These will get working but need lots of attention from lack of preventative maintenance.
Hi i have tried all the above but to no avail all of the switches move very freely so i think that dustys thoughts that the mute switch spring might be broken is correct???
what i really need to know is will taking the old three switch unit off and replacing it with the two switch one work???? as i can change channels on the main console
bigbadbilly is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTD: PTT Switch Housing for CB, 1990 GL1500 SE ALEX BERECZKY For Sale/Wanted Forum 0 10-17-2012 12:24 PM
WANTED 1989 Audio Buttons scons For Sale/Wanted Forum 0 06-06-2012 05:21 AM
Oil filter housing GL1500 Sauceman Goldwing Technical Forum 3 08-21-2011 06:00 PM
gl1500 throttle cable housing walt_k Goldwing Technical Forum 6 06-02-2009 01:25 PM
1988 gl1500 speedometer housing noise stephenrbadgett Goldwing Technical Forum 4 11-19-2007 09:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome