Gear Indicator for GL1500 - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 10:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bluewaterhooker0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, Fl
Year: 1997
Make: Goldwing SE
Model: '97 GL 1500SE
Posts: 653
Gear Indicator for GL1500

Has anyone tried, or have any experience with either of these 2 shift indicators ? The universal one uses magnetic sensors, and apparently an electrical 'neutral' signal to determine gear position. The other is made to connect to the gear position switch of the engine. Based on my service manual, the gear position switch is used to feed a ground signal to the ECU of the bike. My concern would be that the indicator might 'back feed' a positive signal to the ECU through the LED display. Any thoughts or experience ?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Blue-LED-Uni...3bf0bb&vxp=mtr

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Red-LED-Univ...e42419&vxp=mtr

These are the times that try men's souls. The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country; but he that stands by it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman. Tyranny, like hell, is not easily conquered; yet we have this consolation with us, that the harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph.
Thomas Paine December, 1776
Bluewaterhooker0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 11:56 PM
Senior Member
 
CrystalPistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fairfield, Virginia, USA
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: '97 GL1500SE/ '98 Lehman GTL Trike
Posts: 3,217
Garage
I bought an Air Rider combination volt meter / gear indicator for our '97 GL1500 Trike in 2005, it has performed flawlessly. It connects to the bike's gear position switch circuit, plug and play.
For volts, it was originally hooked into a light but I later wired the voltmeter wire through a relay to battery .... it made maybe a slight difference .... maybe 1/2 or 1/4 volt at most higher .... not enough to bother, but it satisfied my curiosity.

http://www.airrider.com/AIR_RIDER_GE...ATOR_s/383.htm

http://www.airrider.com/AIR_RIDER_GL...3-03-04-gv.htm

They used to have a strictly gear indicator I think.

.
.
.
1997 GL-1500 SE / 1998 Lehman GTL Trike
...(Candy Spectra Red )

"Make Courtesy Your Code of the Road!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CrystalPistol is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 08:54 AM
Member
 
VLADRRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DENVER, Colorado, USA
Year: 1996 + Friendsip 3/1989
Model: 1500
Posts: 112
Where do you connect this to the bike?
VLADRRR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
DBohrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Year: 1967
Make: BSA Royal Star
Posts: 3,244
The gear sensor wires go through a C59 "6-pin black" connector located on the right fan shroud then to the ECM. Ref: photo # 21.

See attached.............
Attached Files
File Type: pdf IMG.pdf (1.99 MB, 136 views)
DBohrer is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
DBohrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Year: 1967
Make: BSA Royal Star
Posts: 3,244
Gear Position Sensor....
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GL1500 Gear Position Sensor.pdf (624.8 KB, 121 views)
DBohrer is online now  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bluewaterhooker0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, Fl
Year: 1997
Make: Goldwing SE
Model: '97 GL 1500SE
Posts: 653
D Bohrer, sounds like you are familiar with the gear indicator. Have you ever hooked up a device to it ? And are my fears warranted, regarding a back fed voltage to the ECU ? The display device is using the ground connections made by the gear indicator switch as near as I can tell. I assume you would just tap the lines of the display into the appropriate wires of C59 Any thoughts ?

These are the times that try men's souls. The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country; but he that stands by it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman. Tyranny, like hell, is not easily conquered; yet we have this consolation with us, that the harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph.
Thomas Paine December, 1776
Bluewaterhooker0 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
DBohrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Year: 1967
Make: BSA Royal Star
Posts: 3,244
I am familiar with the gear position switch but have never connected a gear indicator display unit to it. There is only "ground continuity" between the gear position switch and the ECM (no voltage). Therefor no back feed voltage to the ECM.

Yes, the appropriate wires from the "gear positions" would provide the signals to the display device.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluewaterhooker0 View Post
D Bohrer, sounds like you are familiar with the gear indicator. Have you ever hooked up a device to it ? And are my fears warranted, regarding a back fed voltage to the ECU ? The display device is using the ground connections made by the gear indicator switch as near as I can tell. I assume you would just tap the lines of the display into the appropriate wires of C59 Any thoughts ?
DBohrer is online now  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Silverado6x6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wasilla, Alaska and Adelaide,South Australia
Year: many years, two different continents.
Model: 2035 GL3500 Intercontinental
Posts: 2,010
Garage
I have the el cheapo version with the magnets. If your linkage is sloppy which most Wings are without the recent modded brace available its difficult to get the up shift triggers aligned as I am finding out on my 95 GL1500. What happens is you go up a gear but sensors tend to trigger two gears. If I install a brace it may straighten up.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Silverado6x6 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 08:25 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bluewaterhooker0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, Fl
Year: 1997
Make: Goldwing SE
Model: '97 GL 1500SE
Posts: 653
Silverado, on the version you have, which I believe is the same as one of the ones I posted, is it required to connect the 'neutral' wire to the device. In other words, does it use the neutral trigger as it's reference point for determining the gear positions ? Or, can you skip the neutral wire, and just not show neutral on the display ? Also, is the display really bright enough to see in the daytime ?


http://www.ebay.com/itm/Blue-LED-Uni...3bf0bb&vxp=mtr

These are the times that try men's souls. The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country; but he that stands by it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman. Tyranny, like hell, is not easily conquered; yet we have this consolation with us, that the harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph.
Thomas Paine December, 1776
Bluewaterhooker0 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-22-2014, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Silverado6x6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wasilla, Alaska and Adelaide,South Australia
Year: many years, two different continents.
Model: 2035 GL3500 Intercontinental
Posts: 2,010
Garage
I skipped hooking up the neutral and continued using the stock neutral light, kit indicator will always resetwhen you start from first gear and doesshow zero when in neutral when you first start bike, but after that it may show 1st gear when you do get in neutral, frankly its not a setup I find desireable. And it will show 6,7,8 gear if you keep on trying to get another upshift, but resets from 1st.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Silverado6x6 is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gear Position Indicator Install, GL1500? Dannyboy1949 Goldwing Technical Forum 3 03-18-2013 10:26 AM
Gear position Indicator GL1500 Haroldmac Goldwing Technical Forum 2 07-11-2012 06:25 PM
GL1500 Gear shift indicator JimArmstrong1 Goldwing Technical Forum 8 06-08-2012 08:14 AM
Gear indicator for GL1500? sunsetnkc Goldwing Technical Forum 10 05-06-2010 10:47 AM
GIPRO DS-H02 GEAR INDICATOR - Gear Indicator 99winger General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 3 04-03-2010 09:40 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome