Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Theory of tire tread design

1K views 17 replies 15 participants last post by  jobe05 
#1 ·
According to what I have seen on TV, (engineers talking about tread design), the main purpose of the design is to channel water away from the tire / road contact patch. This sounds logical.
So with that in mind, why do people that mount a rear tire on the front, reverse the rotation direction? That just seems counter productive.:?

#2 ·
I guess I'm weird - I put front tires on the front, and rear tires on the rear, in the direction of rotation shown on the sidewalls. I figure I'm not an engineer, tire companies spend tens of millions of dollars to produce the safest, best tires people can afford, and I'm not likely to be able to out-think or out-engineer them.

Water clearing in tire tread design is a complex science, employing computer design, empirical testing, etc.. To think that someone, in their basement, can do better than engineers by putting a rear tire on the front & running it backwards is, well, silly (and probably dangerous), in my view. But then, what do I know?

#3 ·
I guess I'm weird - I put front tires on the front, and rear tires on the rear, in the direction of rotation shown on the sidewalls. I figure I'm not an engineer, tire companies spend tens of millions of dollars to produce the safest, best tires people can afford, and I'm not likely to be able to out-think or out-engineer them.

Water clearing in tire tread design is a complex science, employing computer design, empirical testing, etc.. To think that someone, in their basement, can do better than engineers by putting a rear tire on the front & running it backwards is, well, silly (and probably dangerous), in my view. But then, what do I know?
X2! :claps:

The same reasons I use motorcycle tires!

Bill

#4 ·
I wonder if the Tread Pattern, or any pattern at all, is even important on the Front tire?