GL1500 need help wiring a delay relay to HID's - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 3Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Unofficial Youtube Addict
 
Happytrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Year: 1991
Make: Honda
Model: 1991 Goldwing SE Anniversary Edition
Posts: 2,603
Garage
GL1500 need help wiring a delay relay to HID's

I recently installed HID's on my bike and really love them. I bought a delay relay for it (10 sec. delay) and now I just need to wire it in. I thought I had a grasp of what I am supposed to do but googling it just confused me. I'm guessing relays are very flexible. I've never installed one before.

Anyways I came across this photo by wingsconsin and it seemed similar to what I'm trying to do only I'm not using a switch to control the circuits. I just want the delay for the HID's. Could use some help though to make sure I understand what I'm supposed to do. Here is the photo I found from wingsconsin.



I'd like to install this relay so I alter the factory harness as little as possible so everything can be put back to original if desired. I am figuring the way to do the least altering is tap in after the oem connector to the headlight harness. Does this make sense?

a) So should I cut the factory headlight harness then connect that positive lead (from the ignition switch side) to #30?
b) And on the headlight harness connect that positive lead (that goes to the HIDs) to the #87?
c) And then can I connect the same positive lead to #86 as I connected to #30? It just needs switched power right?
d) And then finally connect #85 to a switched ground? Can I tap into the factory harness to the same ground that goes to the headlights?
e) or am I completely off?

p.s. what is the 87A circuit for?
Happytrails is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 08:49 AM Thread Starter
Unofficial Youtube Addict
 
Happytrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Year: 1991
Make: Honda
Model: 1991 Goldwing SE Anniversary Edition
Posts: 2,603
Garage
This is the delay relay I bought.



http://www.retro-solutions.net/produ...ay-pid602.html
Happytrails is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
Unofficial Youtube Addict
 
Happytrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Year: 1991
Make: Honda
Model: 1991 Goldwing SE Anniversary Edition
Posts: 2,603
Garage
I threw together a rough diagram to show what I was thinking. Let me know if this will work. Thanks.

Happytrails is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Year: 1999
Make: GL1500 SE
Posts: 5,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happytrails View Post
I recently installed HID's on my bike and really love them. I bought a delay relay for it (10 sec. delay) and now I just need to wire it in. I thought I had a grasp of what I am supposed to do but googling it just confused me. I'm guessing relays are very flexible. I've never installed one before.

Anyways I came across this photo by wingsconsin and it seemed similar to what I'm trying to do only I'm not using a switch to control the circuits. I just want the delay for the HID's. Could use some help though to make sure I understand what I'm supposed to do. Here is the photo I found from wingsconsin.



I'd like to install this relay so I alter the factory harness as little as possible so everything can be put back to original if desired. I am figuring the way to do the least altering is tap in after the oem connector to the headlight harness. Does this make sense?

a) So should I cut the factory headlight harness then connect that positive lead (from the ignition switch side) to #30?
I would add a fuse at the battery and run a dedicated line to 30..
b) And on the headlight harness connect that positive lead (that goes to the HIDs) to the #87?
87 is the terminal that would go from the relay to the headlights to light them. It is a normally open terminal. 87A is the same But it is normally closed. you would use 87 the normally open.
c) And then can I connect the same positive lead to #86 as I connected to #30? It just needs switched power right?
See below
d) And then finally connect #85 to a switched ground? Can I tap into the factory harness to the same ground that goes to the headlights?
See below
e) or am I completely off?

p.s. what is the 87A circuit for?
Ok, to be more generic I would say this. 85 and 86 trigger the relay. That is turn it off and on only. Either terminal 85 or 86 can be 12 volts but the other must be a ground of course. The load part of the relay travels from 30 to 87A when the relay is off, (NC) or 87 when the relay is turned on. (NO)

I would wire as follows. I would find a wire that is hot with the headlight on. Beware it must be hot in bright or dim and could be a challenge. After that it is easy. Run that wire to 85 or 86. Ground the other to the frame. Now when you turn your lights on the bike the relay turns on so we have to get power to the lights. Bring a fused wire from the battery to 30. Now run a wire from 87 to your fancy new lights. So the sequence of events is that when 12 volts is applied between 85 and 86 that turns in the relay. (think of it as a switch) NOW the switch is closed and the power will flow from the battery to 30. Through the normally open #87 (now closed) terminal and off to your lights. Easy peasy. Hope this helps.

Edit: You got it. Perfect..... You are too fast!! I might have a question as to how much current the lights draw. Will the fuse stand the load to 30? At worst run a fused wire from a hot (like the battery) to 30 and save the hassle of fuses or worse yet melted wires. Also, is there a switched ground in the bikes circuit? If you have a constant ground (85) and a constant 12 volts (86) it will never shut off. It might be fine as printed. Yours to investigate.
redwing52 is online now  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob Myers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond Ky
Model: 1995 Interstate
Posts: 541
I would pick up the relay signal at the alternator. If it isn't charging then the HID is not active. Would solve the problem for guys with the plasma lights too, once they fire if there is a significant voltage drop(starter motor) they will not restart.
AZgl1800 likes this.

1995GL1500 Interstate w/Champion Sidecar
1993 GL1500 I
1988 Vulcan 800A
1986 Yamaha Venture
N4RWM
Bob Myers is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
Unofficial Youtube Addict
 
Happytrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Year: 1991
Make: Honda
Model: 1991 Goldwing SE Anniversary Edition
Posts: 2,603
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by redwing52 View Post
Edit: You got it. Perfect..... You are too fast!! I might have a question as to how much current the lights draw. Will the fuse stand the load to 30? At worst run a fused wire from a hot (like the battery) to 30 and save the hassle of fuses or worse yet melted wires. Also, is there a switched ground in the bikes circuit? If you have a constant ground (85) and a constant 12 volts (86) it will never shut off. It might be fine as printed. Yours to investigate.
Thanks. I think the HID's are safe. They were 35watts and supposed to draw less than stock oem halogens. They are connected to the factory wire harness and appear to be working ok.

Just a question. Why would it be a bad idea to wire this into the ground of the factory harness? Or can someone suggest a nice grounding spot up front?

"riding is good therapy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Happytrails is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
DBohrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Year: 1967
Make: BSA Royal Star
Posts: 3,283
Relay/Wiring

Happytrails...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happytrails View Post
Thanks. I think the HID's are safe. They were 35watts and supposed to draw less than stock oem halogens. They are connected to the factory wire harness and appear to be working ok.

Just a question. Why would it be a bad idea to wire this into the ground of the factory harness?

I never like removing insulation and splicing into the original wiring, it just creates one more area for corrosion, build up of resistance etc. to occur. One more unnecessary "possible" trouble spot.......!


Or can someone suggest a nice grounding spot up front?
There is an OEM ground point on the radiator (near the thermostatic fan motor switch).
DBohrer is online now  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Year: 1999
Make: GL1500 SE
Posts: 5,541
I didn't mean not to use the existing ground.It is not an issue, I just didn't realize how much knowledge you had and wanted to be sure you understood there had to be a switch somewhere. In your diagram it was just shown as plus and neg. Of course any place you get in the factory harness do a good job but I'm sure you will do that.

Also I have a question. Can you tell me what the name of the product is that you made the electric's diagram? Very nice.
redwing52 is online now  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 07:19 PM Thread Starter
Unofficial Youtube Addict
 
Happytrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Year: 1991
Make: Honda
Model: 1991 Goldwing SE Anniversary Edition
Posts: 2,603
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBohrer View Post
Happytrails...



There is an OEM ground point on the radiator (near the thermostatic fan motor switch).
Awesome thanks again.

"riding is good therapy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Happytrails is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 07:27 PM Thread Starter
Unofficial Youtube Addict
 
Happytrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Year: 1991
Make: Honda
Model: 1991 Goldwing SE Anniversary Edition
Posts: 2,603
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by redwing52 View Post
I didn't mean not to use the existing ground.It is not an issue, I just didn't realize how much knowledge you had and wanted to be sure you understood there had to be a switch somewhere. In your diagram it was just shown as plus and neg. Of course any place you get in the factory harness do a good job but I'm sure you will do that.

Also I have a question. Can you tell me what the name of the product is that you made the electric's diagram? Very nice.
Im not very good electrical but im trying to learn. Sometimes its confusing.

Many thanks to you all for understanding and help thru the rough spots.

I used Autocad for that diagram. I use it everyday so it had become second nature for me. If anybody ever wants anything drawn in CAD just let me know. I can whip up a drawing or template from a sketch or maybe a description.

"riding is good therapy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Happytrails is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Delay Relay for HID Headlights, GL1500 Knob Goldwing Technical Forum 2 03-08-2014 09:37 AM
I give up GL1500 HID light wiring wing in atlanta Goldwing Technical Forum 24 10-27-2013 09:55 AM
GL1500 Relay 3 burnt wiring fordf3truck Goldwing Technical Forum 1 07-24-2013 04:16 PM
Cruise switch delay GL1500 [email protected] Goldwing Technical Forum 3 11-26-2012 10:14 PM
GL1500 relay wiring ginger68 Goldwing Technical Forum 4 07-14-2012 09:02 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome