Adding Power outlet to my 1500 - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 2Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MikeBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Model: 1994 Interstate/1986 Aspencade/1982 Interstate GWRRA Member
Posts: 57
Adding Power outlet to my 1500

looking to install a power out, or "ciggerete Lighter" as most people know it, is there a place on the bike where it can be clicked right onto the harness ? i head there was a place for it, but not sure where on the harness it would be. or do i have to hotwire it straight to the battery??
MikeBen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
Yes under left pocket there some plug and play 12v power units available that tap into your front light plugs.
Though I ran my power straight from the extra auxiliary port on the fuse box that powers on with the key.
I would not run straight to battery because you will take a chance of draining battery.
Keep in mind when you add your socket, install where your socket faces the back of the bike. This will give you more room in your pocket for some of the bulky 12v plugs.
Ray Dunbar likes this.
1potter1 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
CrystalPistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fairfield, Virginia, USA
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: '97 GL1500SE/ '98 Lehman GTL Trike
Posts: 3,290
Garage
I have added 4 on the 1200 (both frt pockets, travel trunk, left saddle bag) and 3 to the 1500 Trike (left frt pocket, travel trunk, roof of lower rear compartmant). In my case I wired for different reasons.

The two in frt pockets of 1200 are wired together while the single one of the trike remains alone .....
..... and those are fed by a single 16 ga wire going to term 87 on a relay I installed ....
.... term 30 is to batt pos through a dedicated 10 amp fuse,
.... term 86 is grounded,
.... term 85 is fed by accy term of bike fuse box.
The outlets are thus "hot" when key is in accy or run position only.

On the 1200, the left saddle bag has a "switched" outlet, also wired through afused relay as above ....
.... except in that case term 85 is wired to a toggle switch ....
.... and the other side of the toggle switch is wired on to accy term of bike fuse box ....
.... so power is "at will".
Switch "off", no power to term 85, relay stays relaxed. Switch "on" relay closes, power to outlet except when bike key is off, then no power. It dates from when we carried a bigger "bag phone" and I wanted a charging port with ability to turn it off after awhile of riding.

The outlets of both the 1200 bike and 1500 trike as located in the top of the travel trunk is intended for power for my Delphi SkyFi XM receiver and I hate loosing channels, so those are hot always ....
.... as is the one in the lower rear trunk of the 1500 trike.
They are thus wired straight to batt posterminal with a 16 gage wire fused a couple inches from the battery with a 10 amp fuse. I also use these outlets when hooking up battery maintainer/charger that charges at 2 or 6 amps as I set it.

Always fuse near the battery with a fuse rated below wire capacity ...... ALWAYS.

I am not a fan of drawing power for additional accessories from existing OEM wiring which was intended to operate a specific load. Run the risk of overloading OEM components like relays, fuses, circuit breakers, etc and at the very least, causing voltage drops across a system.



.
.
.
1997 GL-1500 SE / 1998 Lehman GTL Trike
...(Candy Spectra Red )
GWRRA, NRA, & VSPA Life Member

"Make Courtesy Your Code of the Road!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CrystalPistol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Rednaxs60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Model: 1985 GL1200 Limited Edition and 1995 GL1500 SE CDN Edition
Posts: 606
I will be installing a new "cigarette lighter" and USB connections as well. I have installed a new accessory fuse block that gives me 6 new fused circuits and is switched through a relay like CrystalPistol details. Easy to install, keeps the number of 12 VDC connections on the battery to a minimum, keeps the add-ons separate from the bike's operating systems and can be switched so it is off when the bike is turned off. I also installed a new separate ground bus for new and original ground wires.

Cheers
CrystalPistol likes this.

"When writing the story of your life, Don't let anyone else hold the pen"

Ernest
Rednaxs60 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2016, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Rednaxs60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Model: 1985 GL1200 Limited Edition and 1995 GL1500 SE CDN Edition
Posts: 606
Further to my last, here are pictures of the new accessory fuse block, ground bus bar and relay to control the fuse block. The relay to the right of the battery controls the power to the new accessory fuse block.

Hope this helps as well.

Cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20160102_133720887.jpg (121.4 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20160102_133710398.jpg (118.4 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg New Fuse Block and Ground Bar Wired.jpg (136.9 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg New Ground Bar.jpg (137.3 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg Battery Install with Relays labelled.jpg (175.6 KB, 38 views)

"When writing the story of your life, Don't let anyone else hold the pen"

Ernest
Rednaxs60 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Erdeniz Umman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Türkiye
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE Euro Spec
Posts: 1,338
I have used the power outlet at the fuse box (the top two screws give acc fused 12v + and -). I have added two wires from these ports to the place under the left pocket, and used two separate 12pin sockets shown in the picture.
I have cut the wires of these sockets into two parts and connected 12 female ones together and soldered to the wires coming from acc outlet. For the male end, I have connected the wires of the equipment like GPS, cigarette lighter and the relays controlling some lights.
I have removed the unnecessary male sockets from the case and left blank for future use.
So if I need 12v + and - later, I would have the ports ready there, just solder the wire to a male socket and push it in its place.
I want to add one more point finally; I have used red and green wire straps near the sockets to distinguish positive and negative voltage, just an idea, you may use other things.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg File 22.03.2016 09 28 07.jpg (40.2 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 20160322_090742.jpg (149.8 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 20160322_090832.jpg (141.9 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by Erdeniz Umman; 03-22-2016 at 02:54 AM. Reason: Added more pictures
Erdeniz Umman is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
MikeBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Model: 1994 Interstate/1986 Aspencade/1982 Interstate GWRRA Member
Posts: 57
After searching for the plug and plays under the left side pocket......there are none, all plugs are in use, and none open,m is there a Multi Plug-N-Play Harness for GL1500? one where i can plug into the lights, then have exra hanging for other uses?
MikeBen is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-23-2016, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
There used to be 12 v plug available that would piggy back into a inline connection for your front lights.
I used the power connection at the fuse panel that is under the left side cover, it has accessories connection at the top of your fuse panel that only supplies power when the key is on or Acc position.
"The two phillip screws" above the fuses that is under black cover.
You would run a double red/black wire from there to your 12v plug in your pocket.

Last edited by 1potter1; 03-24-2016 at 12:16 PM.
1potter1 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-24-2016, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
Ok, here is the plug and go unit.... I think this is what your looking for:

http://electricalconnection.com/inde...t-port-socket/
1potter1 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-24-2016, 01:25 PM
Member
 
snowmoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cedar City UT
Model: 1988 GL 1500, 2012 GL1800, 1977 GL1000 2012 KLR 650
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1potter1 View Post
Ok, here is the plug and go unit.... I think this is what your looking for:

http://electricalconnection.com/inde...t-port-socket/

For the OP, This type of plug hooked up in the pocket is only good enough to charge your cell phone or run a GPS. These are only good to 5 amps. If you want it to also run a small compressor to fill tires, you will need to go directly to the battery or an Aux. fuse panel hooked to the battery. Compressors need closer to 15 amp circuit. You did not say what you wanted to run, so just throwing it out there.

Dan
AMA Life
2012 GL 1800 Level 3
1988 GL 1500
1977 GL 1000
2012 KLR 650
snowmoer is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
85A Adding a power outlet mclock Goldwing Technical Forum 9 02-19-2013 09:11 PM
adding a 12v power outlet lasers56 Goldwing Technical Forum 8 07-18-2008 11:56 AM
Power outlet cbhon Goldwing Technical Forum 1 04-15-2007 02:07 AM
Power Outlet Rainer Cantu Goldwing Technical Forum 4 12-14-2005 04:55 AM
Power outlet help Ozarkryder Goldwing Technical Forum 2 06-24-2005 07:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome