Cruise control fix if Cruise on Light bulb burned out - Page 2 - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 2Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Erdeniz Umman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Türkiye
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE Euro Spec
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgmr250 View Post
I used regular white LED's - the dash warning lights are brighter now - I can see them easily in the sun, but are maybe a touch bright at night. The backlighting is better, but a little overpowering on the top section of the gauges, but works better for me than the dim lighting that was there.
Keep in mind that, if you have hot spots on the gauges, that is because of the type of the LEDs. There are LEDs which have concave lens reflecting the light to the sides rather than front.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (83.5 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (149.0 KB, 9 views)
Erdeniz Umman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 01:09 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
rgmr250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Maple Ridge, BC Canada
Model: 97 gl1500 SE
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erdeniz Umman View Post
Keep in mind that, if you have hot spots on the gauges, that is because of the type of the LEDs. There are LEDs which have concave lens reflecting the light to the sides rather than front.
The ones I used look like this: http://www.carpartslights.com/images/t10-5%20smd.jpg
Because they have 5 LED's, they should distribute light fairly similarly to a regular bulb. I think they're just a lot brighter and therefore create the hotspots. Attached is a pic (garage lights off, no flash, dash lights on). You can see the hot spots at the top left and top right. I'm quite ok with it, particularly since 0-140KM/h is well lit (I'm not generally riding past 140...) and the tach is lit in the important ranges as well...

Before the LED's, the 160-220 range on the speedo was about the brightness of the entire speedo and tach.

The camera really doesn't pick up the LCD - it's much, much more readable than the picture show.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_5353.jpg (59.2 KB, 13 views)

Bikes I've owned since June, 2013:
Since sold:11 CBR250R, 89 ZG1000, 92 Ninja 500, 85 V45 Magna, 84 DT200, 82 Virago 750, 92 Virago 1100, 04 Kawasaki ZZR250, 07 Vstrom 650 ABS, 88 GL1500, 14 Ninja 300, 86 V65 Magna, 96 VLX600, 08 WR250X, 09 KLX250S, 87 FZR1000, 14 Ninja 650, plus some more...
Current rides:
2010 Husqvarna TE250
2015 Kawasaki Ninja 650
2008 GL1800 with bagger kit
1997 GL1500SE
rgmr250 is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Erdeniz Umman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Türkiye
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE Euro Spec
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgmr250 View Post
The ones I used look like this: http://www.carpartslights.com/images/t10-5%20smd.jpg
Because they have 5 LED's, they should distribute light fairly similarly to a regular bulb. I think they're just a lot brighter and therefore create the hotspots. Attached is a pic (garage lights off, no flash, dash lights on). You can see the hot spots at the top left and top right. I'm quite ok with it, particularly since 0-140KM/h is well lit (I'm not generally riding past 140...) and the tach is lit in the important ranges as well...

Before the LED's, the 160-220 range on the speedo was about the brightness of the entire speedo and tach.


The camera really doesn't pick up the LCD - it's much, much more readable than the picture show.

Yesterday, I bought those for the front position lights next to the headlight. They are too bright to be used in dash panel, I think.

Haven't you replaced the ones for the LCDs?
Erdeniz Umman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
rgmr250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Maple Ridge, BC Canada
Model: 97 gl1500 SE
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erdeniz Umman View Post
Yesterday, I bought those for the front position lights next to the headlight. They are too bright to be used in dash panel, I think.

Haven't you replaced the ones for the LCDs?
I replaced the top one in the LCD (same bulbs as the others). Oddly, to the human eye, it's much brighter, but the camera just doesn't pick it up. I didn't replace the bottom bulb, since you have to take the IP partially apart, I think, to get to it. Next time I'm in there, I'll probably replace the bottom backlight bulb in the LCD.

Bikes I've owned since June, 2013:
Since sold:11 CBR250R, 89 ZG1000, 92 Ninja 500, 85 V45 Magna, 84 DT200, 82 Virago 750, 92 Virago 1100, 04 Kawasaki ZZR250, 07 Vstrom 650 ABS, 88 GL1500, 14 Ninja 300, 86 V65 Magna, 96 VLX600, 08 WR250X, 09 KLX250S, 87 FZR1000, 14 Ninja 650, plus some more...
Current rides:
2010 Husqvarna TE250
2015 Kawasaki Ninja 650
2008 GL1800 with bagger kit
1997 GL1500SE
rgmr250 is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 01:38 PM
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 56,798
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe in calif View Post
On the 1800 wing you can dim the dash lights for day riding and that will help the life of the bulbs but on the 1500 there is no adjustment but they are dull anyway.

Don't know what year bike you got, but on my '02 the dimmer only controls the lights for the left hand handlebar controls.
AZgl1800 is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-08-2016, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Erdeniz Umman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Türkiye
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE Euro Spec
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgmr250 View Post
I replaced the top one in the LCD (same bulbs as the others). Oddly, to the human eye, it's much brighter, but the camera just doesn't pick it up. I didn't replace the bottom bulb, since you have to take the IP partially apart, I think, to get to it. Next time I'm in there, I'll probably replace the bottom backlight bulb in the LCD.
It is quite easy, you will have to remove speedometer and then LCD screen. If I am not mistaken it was a smaller size bulb.
Erdeniz Umman is online now  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL1500 Cruise Control lag fix rcurtisjr Goldwing Technical Forum 10 08-23-2013 10:26 PM
GL1500 cruise contol light bulb assembly fast freddy Goldwing Technical Forum 5 01-24-2012 06:16 PM
GL1500 cruise control light Bigwavedave Goldwing Technical Forum 3 07-29-2011 11:28 AM
1500 cruise control fix Danimal Goldwing Technical Forum 10 08-07-2010 01:14 PM
cruise control unit led won't light. :( johnfly Goldwing Technical Forum 9 05-04-2007 05:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome