1Likes
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-27-2016, 07:00 AM Thread Starter

Year: 1988
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500
Exclamation GL1500 Acceleration issues

Hello! I'm new to the 1500 and not certain if this is normal or no. My bike has the idle stumble issue (read lots about it...will be performing the arcane rituals to resolve in the off season). It also only seems to have two modes of travel: not enough power to maintain speed or go like a scalded cat. Maintaining a steady speed at less than 65 mph or so is pretty much impossible. There seems to be a point at which turning the throttle past make the bike take off. Less than that, you slow down. No balance between. If you try to, it surges back and forth between the two. Not sure where to look for this. Any help, as always, is greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-27-2016, 07:39 AM

Model: 1995 Gl1500se
Hello and welcome to the forum and your goldwing. I am NOT a guru but I had pretty much the same problem with my 1995 GL1500. I purchased a set of carbs from ebay for about $50.00 and rebuilt them over the winter with a Randakk kit (the best) which included the accelerator pump rebuild and installed them. I also replaced the bad vacuum hoses under the rubber mat under the carbs. Mine runs like a champ now. I don't know if the 1988's are like the 95's but that helped mine.

“Those who surrender freedom for security will not have, nor do they deserve, either one.”

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1995 Honda Goldwing GL1500se
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-27-2016, 03:15 PM
Banned

Year: 94
Model: 1500 SE
Welcome to the forum, Some info about bike miles, how long you had it, problem sudden or bike been sitting?
I start all running diagnosis with a look at the spark plugs- probably replacement as they are cheap and already out...use NGK