1500 hazard lights - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bellboy40
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2016, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Year: 1999
Make: Goldwing Aspencade
Posts: 85
1500 hazard lights

My hazard lights only work when I have a turn signal on and then it is only for about 10 seconds. Any ideas on the fix?

Ed
near Philadelphia
fordf3truck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2016, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
DBohrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Year: 1967
Make: BSA Royal Star
Posts: 3,283
Hazard Lights

Here is the voltage flow:

1. Ignition switch sends voltage to the "acc" 10-amp fuse. (Light green/black wire)

2. Acc 10-amp fuse sends voltage to the Hazard relay. (Light green/black wire)

3. Hazard relay sends voltage to the Hazard switch. (Pink/white wire)

4. Hazard switch sends voltage to the left and right turn signal bulbs.

a. Light Blue wire to the right bulbs.

b. Orange wire to the left bulbs.

1. Check the fuse.

2. Check the relay.

Note: You can check for output from the relay at the 22-pin White connector under the seat. (Pink/White wire) Might be in a black plastic case....!
DBohrer is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2016, 09:08 PM
Moderator
 
Bike...and Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Model: 1987 GL1200 Interstate 290,000 miles
Posts: 21,721
Might just be a dirty switch. Open up the pod and spray it down a few times with WD-40 while cycling the button a few hundred times.

Why ain't we ridin'?
Bike...and Dennis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2016, 09:32 PM
Junior Grue
 
Ken Bergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Model: 1984 Interstate "Canadian"
Posts: 8,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bike...and Dennis View Post
Might just be a dirty switch. Open up the pod and spray it down a few times with WD-40 while cycling the button a few hundred times.
I doubt that water is the problem but I've been wrong before.

Advise given here is free and comes with no warranty "Caveat emptor"

Ken.
Ken Bergen is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2016, 10:33 PM
Moderator
 
Bike...and Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Model: 1987 GL1200 Interstate 290,000 miles
Posts: 21,721
Ken, you know WD-40 also cleans and lubes.

The reason I suggested this was because when my switches start acting erratically, it's usually been just an accumulation of various tiny bits of communist propaganda sent over here on the prevailing westerlies to infiltrate our motorcycles and cause them to act like Urals.

So I use War-game Defence-40, to protect my ride.

Why ain't we ridin'?
Bike...and Dennis is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2016, 10:45 PM
Junior Grue
 
Ken Bergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Model: 1984 Interstate "Canadian"
Posts: 8,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bike...and Dennis View Post
Ken, you know WD-40 also cleans and lubes.
This advertisement is brought to you by the CEO of the Water Displacement formula 40 fan club.

Advise given here is free and comes with no warranty "Caveat emptor"

Ken.
Ken Bergen is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2016, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Year: 1999
Make: Goldwing Aspencade
Posts: 85
Thanks for the help, here is the whole story.
My throttle cable broke a couple of weeks ago and I replaced it (A cable). Since then I needed my hazard lights and have the aforementioned problem with them.
I also realized my cruise control will not set.
Can you give me more info on how to check the wire in the 22 pin connection to see if the hazard relay is working?

Thanks again
Ed
near Philadelphia
fordf3truck is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2016, 05:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: All Roads Lead To Yosemite, CA.
Year: 94
Model: 1500 SE
Posts: 4,568
How is the operation of the hazard switch? it moves freely in and locks in ON position and releases freely to stop the hazards??

My 94 would not turn them ON one day when needed, the next morning I started the bike and hazards would not turn off!

Used CRC electrical contact spray cleaner and lot of pushes of said switch till it freed up-- and suddenly a red stripe appeared, then a red block,,the top of the button now extended for OFF
Plan to go inside switch housing with cleaner and a tube of dielectric grease to fix right.

Thats the problem with cleaners, you wash away the dried up lubricant!
So to keep it from working smoothly in the future = you need to replace that stuff.
Aloha Tom is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2016, 05:19 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: All Roads Lead To Yosemite, CA.
Year: 94
Model: 1500 SE
Posts: 4,568
with throttle cable job- there is a switch that disconnects the cruise when you roll off throttle slightly.
Is that all hooked up correct?
Aloha Tom is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2016, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Bellboy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brewton, Alabama, USA
Year: 2000 & 1994
Model: 2000 GL1500SE Candy Spectra Red, 1994 GL1500SE Pearl Bermuda Green
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordf3truck View Post
snip...
Can you give me more info on how to check the wire in the 22 pin connection to see if the hazard relay is working?

Thanks again
Ed
near Philadelphia
The connector is under the seat toward the rear on the left side. It is a white 22 pin connector on the Aspencade. You can put your voltmeter or test light between the pink/white wire and the other lead to ground. You should see battery voltage there with the ignition switch turned on. As DBohrer said, the connector may be inside a plastic case that you can pull apart to get to it. If you can't get your meter lead on the wire with the connector still plugged in, you can take it apart and measure the voltage on the side coming from the rear.
DBohrer likes this.

Larry

Only two things are infinite... the universe and human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
-- Albert Einstein

Bellboy40 is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hazard lights GL1500 Doxbike Goldwing Technical Forum 3 06-29-2011 08:42 AM
hazard lights Dragoon General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 7 10-29-2008 10:09 PM
hazard lights DoDefoort Goldwing Technical Forum 2 04-04-2008 01:00 PM
Hazard Lights buckodub Goldwing Technical Forum 13 03-19-2008 09:57 AM
83 gl1100 hazard lights hector Goldwing Technical Forum 5 05-07-2006 11:47 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome