94 1500 CB won't change channels - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 2Likes
  • 2 Post By John J
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
plain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Year: '94'
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500
Posts: 111
94 1500 CB won't change channels

Hey Guys...

A question about my 94 1500 CB. I had read several weeks back a thread that had a comment in it about when a CB gets stuck on a certain channel and won't change (either 39 like mine or 49) that there is a resistor? that needs to be replaced but I am having no luck finding the thread. The thread was started about another problem and this info was a gem in there.

Does anyone remember? Thanks!

plain

The nature of things....

'From High Expectations to Grim Determination'

I like order...and some day I will have it.
plain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
dadztoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Georgetown, Tennessee, USA
Year: 2009
Make: Honda
Model: 2009 Silver GL1800 ABS
Posts: 1,754
Garage
I don't remember anything about a resistor but have you tried cleaning the channel select switch real good with a good quality contact cleaner???

Mine would act up from time to time and that fixed it for me...

4 wheels moves the body
2 wheels moves the soul
Honorary Wild Rhino - 7/10/2014

GL1800 HPNAM9
Darkside #1574 - Bridgestone Driveguard RF
Double Darkside - BT-45


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dadztoy is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-19-2016, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
John J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Aylesbury, , United Kingdom
Year: 2006
Make: Honda Goldwing
Model: GL1800A6
Posts: 706
Garage
I didn't see the thread you refer to but have you tried disconnecting the bike battery to lose the CB memory? If it resets to channel 1 when the battery is reconnected and you can then change channels up to 39 and 40 again it will prove your switches are working. If you can't change from channel 1 then the switches may need cleaning.
In the past I have had other types of CB faults, eg. the numbers on the display not fully showing etc. and I found that using contact cleaner on the connection block behind the CB, the brown connection block under the left pocket and the main connection into the back of the radio itself fixed the problems.
gipsy42 and Aloha Tom like this.

GL1800A 2006
Previously:
GL1500SE \'98
Harley Fatboy 2004
Triumph Rocket Touring 2010
Honda Valkyrie 2002 (fantastic!)
Pan European ST1100
John J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-19-2016, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
OnaWingAndaPrayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Antonio Fl, Florida, USA
Year: 75,83I,86SEi,93A,94SE,03ABS
Model: 94SE 209000 miles
Posts: 12,668
There is a common component failure in these . I do seem to recall one of the parts that failed was a resistor. I sent mine to Sierra Electronics for repair.

Mike
NASSIR 1
NASSIR 6
NASSIR 7
NASSIR 8
NASR 10 Good times!
OnaWingAndaPrayer is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-19-2016, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Peter Goldwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Edgewater, FL
Year: 2008
Make: Honda
Model: GL 1800
Posts: 1,490
Im with dadztoy here. Mine , after awhile of inactivity has problem changing chanels. I play with it for awhile and once it goes , it goes.
The problem with mine is that I dont use it almost at all.

I make sense all the time. The problem is you only listen intermittently

Follow me on the spot

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Peter Goldwing is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-19-2016, 11:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: All Roads Lead To Yosemite, CA.
Year: 94
Model: 1500 SE
Posts: 4,568
per John, the BLUE can of CRC Electrical Contact spray cleaner - is safe for use around our plastics
Aloha Tom is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-19-2016, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
plain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Year: '94'
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500
Posts: 111
Okay Thanks Guys,

Will try the battery remedy this weekend. I am trying to get all my parts together by end of Dec. (Santy Claus ) to add a stereo amp, led brake lights etc., and generally go over my pahdnuh and make sure he is good for the next year so if resetting the CB by disconnecting the batt and cleaning all the terminals don't help I can try something else.

The nature of things....

'From High Expectations to Grim Determination'

I like order...and some day I will have it.
plain is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-20-2016, 12:54 PM
Oh - THAT guy...
 
rpeters549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lowell, Oregon, USA
Year: 2000
Make: 1500
Model: SE
Posts: 3,228
Even if the battery disconnect does the trick, you might consider cleaning the switch housings/switches when you have a couple hours to play. They can start to act up and you get used to it so don't think about it until suddenly it tips over the line to not working.

Vote one for year-round riding! Austone Darksider PVT (Passenger Vehicle Tire)

Most recent Wing: 128k+ on the 2000 GL1500 SE (Just totaled) due to being rear-ended...
Current ride (for now) 2015 Triumph Trophy SE

Avatar- 1963 Kenskill trailer

Previous wings: '78GL1000, 13k mile '77 GL1000 (resto at home, neat story!), '81 GL1100 Interstate.
Previous non-wings: CB360T, Suzuki GS550L, Yamaha 650 spcl (first bike!), Silverwing 500, Yamaha Spectre 1100, VFR700F, CB900 Custom.
rpeters549 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-20-2016, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
plain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Year: '94'
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500
Posts: 111
Absolutely. That is usually how things at my place go anyhow so I might as well do it right the first time. Hey, now there's an idea!

The nature of things....

'From High Expectations to Grim Determination'

I like order...and some day I will have it.
plain is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
03 Won't start after filter change Bvanemon Goldwing Technical Forum 6 08-28-2016 09:57 AM
GL1100 won't start after oil change jh1990 Goldwing Technical Forum 9 03-10-2015 08:46 AM
When Stop Lights Won't Change Dannyboy1949 Miscellaneous Forum 19 01-14-2013 01:22 PM
ARGH! Won't start after timing belt change and new mufflers! smocksam Goldwing Technical Forum 34 04-04-2007 08:40 AM
CB Channels keener General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 3 05-10-2006 09:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome