GL1500 Subwoofer audio speaker install. - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 03:06 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Singapore
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 25
GL1500 Subwoofer audio speaker install.

So I've been playing around with the audio system. Gutted the old radio and CB and did this.....but I didn't like the result. The mids and highs were fine but there was no bass at all. Also, the 5X8 speakers weren't pointing at my head so they were pretty much useless. Only the dash mounted Polk DB501's were any good.

I don't know how to insert the pics within the body of text so I'll just make a new post for each pic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180209_154138.jpg (118.0 KB, 72 views)

Last edited by Whystay; 04-28-2018 at 03:52 AM.
Whystay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 03:13 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Singapore
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 25
I ordered the Boss MC900 Amplifier.
Thats shoved up deep inside the dashboard via the left hand glove box. The remote is installed where the old CB controls used to be.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thumb.php.jpg (24.5 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_160546.jpg (98.1 KB, 42 views)
Whystay is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Singapore
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 25
I bought this Dynaquest 6inch flat subwoofer meant for cars. It won't fit Where the old radio goes without some modification..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_095020.jpg (81.8 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_100355.jpg (99.3 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_120936.jpg (114.0 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_123744.jpg (144.4 KB, 49 views)
Whystay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 03:26 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Singapore
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 25
The built-in amplifer for the sub is for the moment just placed in the glove box recess held in place by gravity.. Not too cool an install but it will do for now.

I did have to create a new heat sink for the doo-hickey on the amplifier cos it gets HOT! (thats the aluminium plate mounted to the circuit board.

The sub-woofer housing is screwed to the lid of the airbox from the underside of the lid.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_095441.jpg (106.9 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_130319.jpg (137.3 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_134506.jpg (108.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_142401.jpg (133.2 KB, 35 views)
Whystay is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 03:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Singapore
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 25
So its done.
I Bluetooth Spotify from my mobile phone. The Boss amp picks it up very quickly (within a few seconds of turning on the ignition). In terms of user-friendliness, I think it works great.

I went for a short ride today and the whole system kinda works. I won't say it sounds great but certainly much better than stock and also better than my first variation (with the 4x9 speakers and single DIN head unit).

At around 40mph, it sounds quite good, getting progressively worse till about 70mph where its bearable but not quite enjoyable. The Boss amp is also dimed at that speed and its not really loud (pedestrians will probably disagree though!)

The remote for the sub is sited where that old CB used to be (behind the green rag) but its a set-and-forget kinda deal so it can be mounted anywhere. I have it dimed too. The sub is farting out at that volume but at speed, you can't really notice it.

Overall, there is more bass than ever before but its not really very prominent. If you like heavy thumping bass, its not here. All this setup does is give you a little more bass, not a whole lot.

Mind you, at idle, there's plenty of bass in the sound mix. It sounds really good like that but once you get up to speed, the wind and exhaust noise drown it out quite a lot.

I do have a very short windshield and ducking behind does help a lot with the sound quality so you guys with tulsa's will probably do much better. My right side muffler is also rusted through so its quite loud. I also wear a Schuberth C4 which is supposed to be quiet (not really).
My rear speakers are disconnected.

So there, I was wanting to try this for the longest time and and satisfied that its done. Was it worth it? I have to think about that ..... also use it for a while before deciding.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_144004.jpg (134.7 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_143956.jpg (100.6 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_160550.jpg (123.4 KB, 36 views)
Whystay is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
wedoo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Model: 1982 GL1100 Interstate
Posts: 885
I love radio posts. Yours is cool and you point out the limitations on motorcycle sound. Even with our little cocoon it is a problem getting great sound at speed. I don't know what a new wing sounds like when you're traveling at 75mph, but I imagine that it is nothing like being in your car at 75.

I spent the winter tinkering with my sound; trying a Kenwood receiver, a 400 watt amp and big 6 inch speakers. The amp did little to improve things and I had to send it back twice for repair. Gave up and it's going into my truck. Now I have big speakers up front, the old speaker enclosures attached to the trunk in back with new 4" speakers and things sound pretty good. At 75 I had better be wearing my half lid to hear things half way clear.

All in the name of improvement. Good job Whystay.

I couldn't fix my brakes so I made the horn louder
Motor started to knock. Turned up the radio.


Jack
.
wedoo2 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 07:58 AM
RB
Senior Member
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SCOTTSDALE, Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,328
Send a message via AIM to RB
You two seem to be into audio stuff..so here's a question..for a novice and electrically challenged..I want to increase the speaker volume of my stock 1500SE. Can I just add an amp and if so how/where and what's the max number so I can't blow my stock speakers..

IE how do you just add an amp to a stock system..where does it goes in the wiring to boost all four speakers.

Be kind with step by step I really don' t know what I am doing.

1981 GL1100I Sold her..so sad!
1976 GL1000 Sulfur Yellow sold
1976 GL1000 RED rebuilt SOLD
1979 GL1000 parting out PM if you\'re looking for something
1975 sold
1978 sold
1981 sold
1982 sold
1982 sold
1983 A sold
1997 1500 SE SOLD
1999 1500 SE SOLD
1998 1500 SE..RIDING
FAIR WINDS,
RB
RB is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Singapore
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 25
Hey Wedoo2, Thanks for the compliment. Much appreciated!

RB,...
If I recall, the stock system was plenty loud. Perhaps even a little louder than what I now have. But there was much more distortion from either the stock speakers or the amp. Probably both. The Polk speakers were the first thing I swapped to and they are up to the task. I'm not sure adding another amp to the stock system would do much good. The stock radio seemed to have more than enough juice to push the stock speakers. I would suspect that adding an amp alone would not be fruitful.

But you can try hooking up an old car head unit to the stock speakers and see if that is an improvement. The head unit I first used was a 200 watt RMS pioneer but that wasn't enough watts..... plenty of distortion at high volume. Mind you, at 50 mph, the pioneer head unit was at max volume.

But if you want to add an amp to the stock system, you would need to cut the existing speaker wires and join them to the output wires from the amp. Not very hard to do.

So it goes like this....
You will have 4 pairs or wires coming from the stock radio to the 4 speakers.
Cut those where convenient. ( don't worry, you can always rejoin them if you cut it in a sub-optimal position).
So now you have 4 pairs of wires coming out from the stock radio... you connect those to the input of the new amplifier.
You also have 4 pairs of wires coming from the speakers (cos you just cut the original speaker wires in half). You join those 4 pairs of wires to the output of the new amplifier.
As for wattage and blowing up speakers, I suspect that doing it like this could damage the speakers if you go too loud. There could also be issues with Ohms and what-not which I'm not clear about.
I do know that the Boss 900b amp which I use pushes the Polk speakers just fine even to max volume. The Polks seem ok.. But who knows, they may blow tomorrow!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180428_220849.jpg (68.4 KB, 12 views)
Whystay is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Power Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: Aspencade 1500
Posts: 5,115
Garage
Cool conversion.

Only a biker knows why a dog puts his head out of a window of a moving vehicle.
Power Guy is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-28-2018, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: San Jose, Ca USA
Year: 1994
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 130
Garage
If you connect the OEM radio output to the amplifier input don't you stand the chance of blowing up the amplifier's input circuitry if you set the radio volume too high?

Alan Hepburn
1994 GL1500SE with a California Sidecar
San Jose, Ca
Alan_Hepburn is offline  
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL1500 CB install? duckster01 Goldwing Technical Forum 3 12-02-2014 08:54 AM
GL1800 Subwoofer franklinc3 Goldwing Technical Forum 6 08-11-2012 03:05 AM
GL1500 noise filter install and oil gauge install questions.... gaspredator Goldwing Technical Forum 4 06-30-2011 10:31 PM
install dyna-eletronic/remove points/76-1000 wing install TOM FOREMAN Goldwing Technical Forum 9 03-24-2010 07:16 PM
Ok..This is going too Far.. A SubWoofer...??? Capg2000 Goldwing Technical Forum 3 04-18-2009 09:06 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome