New GL1000 owner. Excited, but bad start..? - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-16-2018, 02:00 PM Thread Starter

Year: 1977
Make: Honda
Model: GL1000
Garage
New GL1000 owner. Excited, but bad start..?

Hello all,

I am new to the Goldwing arena and figured it would be good to get on some forums and be able to discuss and research things. I love the style of these old bikes and want to learn more about them.

I recently bought a '77 GL1000. I like it, I want to do some things to it to get it nice and smooth and able to cruise wherever I want.

BUT, I did something quite stupid... I left the petcock on one night, and then the next day, I went out to mess with it. I saw some fuel leaking from the carbs. I drained them a bit with the drain screw on the bottom of the bowl. (Keep in mind, I never did any research on this... stupid, right?)
After I did this, I went to start it. It turned a couple times, then got stuck. I took the kick starts out and manually turned the engine a bit. Then went to start it again. It fired up. I turned it off after a couple minutes of running. I went to start it again, and it stuck. I manually turned the engine slightly again, and started it again. It was running alright, so I took in for a little ride in town. I parked at a restaurant and let it sit for a while.
When I came back out, it started up without trouble. I turned it off, let it sit for a few minutes and started it again. No trouble...
I have since not started the bike and have been reading things about leaving the petcock on, about the carbs and such. I discovered that I made a huge mistake. I should have removed the plugs and turned the crank to get the fuel from the chambers (if it had leaked into them, which is likely) to avoid hydrolock, and maybe change the oil?
From the sound of things, does anyone know if my engine is suddenly going to trash soon? Or does it seem to be alright?