Dex-cool in GL1200 - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 08:58 PM Thread Starter

Model: 1986 GL1200 Aspy
Garage
Dex-cool in GL1200

I've been using Dex-cool for about 15 years and 60,000 miles without any issues at all, just wondering if others are also using it and had problems. The reason I switched at around 23,000 miles was, when changing the antifreeze (green type), I noticed a lot of hard crud and pitting around the thermostat, the hose connections and the radiator cap. Since using Dex-cool I have had the radiator out for various reasons, more recently to change a stuck thermostat and most recently to install a poor boy-style alternator conversion. The Dex cool always looks like new, no pitting, no crud and the radiator and water pump looks squeaky clean. Any thoughts on this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 09:40 PM
mod-erator

Model: 2010 GL1800
Garage
I wouldn't use it myself but if you are having no problem with it then that's OK with me. I would caution anyone wanting to change to be sure to flush all traces of ethylene glycol out of the system.

With no God over the state, the state then becomes not the defender of liberty but the definer of liberty.

NRA endowment life member
Wild Rhino Arkansas chapter
2010 1800 pearl yellow

If I disagree with you it's simply because you're wrong.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 05:06 PM

Year: 1984 Interstate, 82 GL1100, 79 KZ1000, 87 CR250
Make: Honda
Model: GL1200 and GL1100
Garage
I just worked on a vehicle that wasnt flushed properly, what a mess clumped up in spots and over heated and cracked a head (V8). I use the universal that green just because its available in the bike, but have yellow in the car and truck.

GL1100
GL1200
KZ1000
Grizzly 600
CR250

Its always been Mind over Matter. I dont Mind You dont matter.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 05:41 PM

Year: 1999