Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums (https://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/)
-   Goldwing Technical Forum (https://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/2-goldwing-technical-forum/)
-   -   Result of a near disaster: 82-1100-I (https://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/2-goldwing-technical-forum/666925-result-near-disaster-82-1100-i.html)

PAPete 04-11-2019 09:25 AM

Result of a near disaster: 82-1100-I

Since I started riding about 20 years ago, I have missed a turn and driven off the road three times -- twice in the first couple years of riding. It happened again yesterday when I went into a turn too fast.

Fortunately, I was able to keep the "shiny side up" (to coin a phrase) and get the bike back on the road safely. But I hit one very large hole which maxed out the suspension, threw me way up off the saddle, and landed hard.

When I got home, shut the bike off, and tried to start it again, the starter just whirred and then clanked off. Engine didn't budge, and I can hear something slipping -- in the starter I think. After a couple tries it did "catch" and started up easily.

What do you think I did to it? And how do I fix it. All suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Sprocketrocket55 04-11-2019 09:39 AM

I doubt the starting problem is related to the offroading. Starter clutch or starter planetary gear slipping. Check for loose bolts.
As for your driving, practice pulling slightly on the handlebar the wrong way, this will send the bike into a deep lean for quick maneuvers.

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk

PAPete 04-11-2019 10:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sprocketrocket55 (Post 5834937)
I doubt the starting problem is related to the offroading. Starter clutch or starter planetary gear slipping. Check for loose bolts.
As for your driving, practice pulling slightly on the handlebar the wrong way, this will send the bike into a deep lean for quick maneuvers.