LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
Impersonating a mechanic

Year: 1982 & 1985
Make: Honda
Model: 82 GL1100-I PA/85 GL1200-A ID
Garage
Result of a near disaster: 82-1100-I

Since I started riding about 20 years ago, I have missed a turn and driven off the road three times -- twice in the first couple years of riding. It happened again yesterday when I went into a turn too fast.

Fortunately, I was able to keep the "shiny side up" (to coin a phrase) and get the bike back on the road safely. But I hit one very large hole which maxed out the suspension, threw me way up off the saddle, and landed hard.

When I got home, shut the bike off, and tried to start it again, the starter just whirred and then clanked off. Engine didn't budge, and I can hear something slipping -- in the starter I think. After a couple tries it did "catch" and started up easily.

What do you think I did to it? And how do I fix it. All suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Pete

82 GL1100-I -- PA
85 GL1200-A -- ID
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 09:39 AM

Year: 1985
Model: Interstate
I doubt the starting problem is related to the offroading. Starter clutch or starter planetary gear slipping. Check for loose bolts.
As for your driving, practice pulling slightly on the handlebar the wrong way, this will send the bike into a deep lean for quick maneuvers.

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk
Peter Goldwing likes this.
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Impersonating a mechanic

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprocketrocket55 View Post
I doubt the starting problem is related to the offroading. Starter clutch or starter planetary gear slipping. Check for loose bolts.
As for your driving, practice pulling slightly on the handlebar the wrong way, this will send the bike into a deep lean for quick maneuvers.