Taking a vacuum for a brake servo - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 07:15 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: york, , United Kingdom
Posts: 317
Taking a vacuum for a brake servo

Hi, just upgraded to an 11/16 master cylinder on my 1500 trike and have found i need a lot more pressure to get a good brake so now I'm going to add a remote brake servo and was wondering if I just put a t piece in one of the vacuum hoses from the inlet manifold will it cause any issues with the running of the bike. If this works like I'm hoping will be doing the same with my 1800 trike.
Cheers Bash
basher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 11:58 AM
mod-erator
 
DaveO430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amity, Arkansas, USA
Model: 2010 GL1800
Posts: 24,182
Garage
Wow, power brakes on a bike. There should be no problems using vacuum off the intake. You could use the port on the right for synching the carbs.

With no God over the state, the state then becomes not the defender of liberty but the definer of liberty.


NRA endowment life member
Wild Rhino Arkansas chapter
2010 1800 pearl yellow

If I disagree with you it's simply because you're wrong.
DaveO430 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
OnaWingAndaPrayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Antonio Fl, Florida, USA
Year: 75,83I,86SEi,93A,94SE,03ABS
Model: 94SE 209000 miles
Posts: 12,676
I expect this will work. Though I would consider adding a vacuum storage tank in the circuit as well as a one way check valve near the source.

Mike
NASSIR 1
NASSIR 6
NASSIR 7
NASSIR 8
NASR 10 Good times!
OnaWingAndaPrayer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: york, , United Kingdom
Posts: 317
So honda expects me to try this by putting a hole there already. Is there something similar with the 1800 2006.
Cheers Bash
basher is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: york, , United Kingdom
Posts: 317
I believe there is a one way valve already in the kit i have bought. What would be the benefit of the air tank?
Cheers
basher is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: york, , United Kingdom
Posts: 317
Sorry, vacuum storage not air tank.
basher is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 07:08 PM
mod-erator
 
DaveO430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amity, Arkansas, USA
Model: 2010 GL1800
Posts: 24,182
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by basher View Post
So honda expects me to try this by putting a hole there already. Is there something similar with the 1800 2006.
Cheers Bash
Honda doesn't make trikes nor do they make vacuum servos for them so they don't expect you to do anything of the sort. No there is no synching port on an 1800, they don't have carbs to synch.

With no God over the state, the state then becomes not the defender of liberty but the definer of liberty.


NRA endowment life member
Wild Rhino Arkansas chapter
2010 1800 pearl yellow

If I disagree with you it's simply because you're wrong.
DaveO430 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
CrystalPistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fairfield, Virginia, USA
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: '97 GL1500SE/ '98 Lehman GTL Trike
Posts: 3,285
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by basher View Post
Hi, just upgraded to an 11/16 master cylinder on my 1500 trike and have found i need a lot more pressure to get a good brake so now I'm going to add a remote brake servo and was wondering if I just put a t piece in one of the vacuum hoses from the inlet manifold will it cause any issues with the running of the bike. If this works like I'm hoping will be doing the same with my 1800 trike.
Cheers Bash


You "upgraded" to what, a larger than OEM piston, which then devides mechanical pressure by more surface area over the piston, resulting in lower PSI put out to brake lines, and now you are gonna add a booster?


As long as it doesn't result in a open vacuum leak, tapping into a hose shouldn't hurt running.


Get it too sensitive and soon a locking rear brake will be the next thing to contend with.

.
.
.
1997 GL-1500 SE / 1998 Lehman GTL Trike
...(Candy Spectra Red )
GWRRA, NRA, & VSPA Life Member

"Make Courtesy Your Code of the Road!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CrystalPistol is online now  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
OnaWingAndaPrayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Antonio Fl, Florida, USA
Year: 75,83I,86SEi,93A,94SE,03ABS
Model: 94SE 209000 miles
Posts: 12,676
I have no idea what servo you have . I am just thinking of the size of vacuum boosters on an auto or hydrovac on older trucks being supplied by 3/8 and 1/2 in vacuum lines . You supplying vacuum from a very small port on a 1500. My thought is have a vacuum reservoir so that the second pump of the pedal you still have some vacuum assist.
Your servo may have enough built in . Best to you in this project.

Mike
NASSIR 1
NASSIR 6
NASSIR 7
NASSIR 8
NASR 10 Good times!
OnaWingAndaPrayer is online now  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 10:12 PM
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,126
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnaWingAndaPrayer View Post
I have no idea what servo you have . I am just thinking of the size of vacuum boosters on an auto or hydrovac on older trucks being supplied by 3/8 and 1/2 in vacuum lines . You supplying vacuum from a very small port on a 1500. My thought is have a vacuum reservoir so that the second pump of the pedal you still have some vacuum assist.
Your servo may have enough built in . Best to you in this project.
you are Definitely going to need a Vacuum Reservoir to provide enough vacuum capacity to activate that booster.

the engine will NOT be able to provide enough to get it to work successfully, over time, while not using the brake, the reservoir will stabilize and be ready to work.

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is offline  
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome