NAVI Locating Satellites Delay - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
NAVI Locating Satellites Delay

This just started happening. -
2015 GL1800 NAVI ABS Comfort. I use the GPS Navi pretty often and it always worked well.
Recently, I noticed something odd.
At first the GPS lost the time. It thought it was 3:56 PM on consecutive days when I cranked it up and when it found the satellites it the time was correct.

Now it seems the time is correct - but it's losing the satellite locations pretty quickly. For instance I tested it, all working well and then I turned the bike off and after the GPS shutdown I turned the bike back on - after the GPS was displayed it took about a minute to locate the satellites. The bike didn't move and it was only off long enough to test about 5 seconds. Like I said this just started happening.

Always before I can't remember losing satellite locations so quickly if at all especially after a quick restart.

I looked at the forums and for other issues some people have said to reboot the system. I restored the default settings but not sure how to hard reset/reboot. Any help is appreciated.
Stan Gay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 05:55 AM
mod-erator
 
DaveO430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amity, Arkansas, USA
Model: 2010 GL1800
Posts: 23,993
Garage
Try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes.

With no God over the state, the state then becomes not the defender of liberty but the definer of liberty.


NRA endowment life member
Wild Rhino Arkansas chapter
2010 1800 pearl yellow

If I disagree with you it's simply because you're wrong.
DaveO430 is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
pidjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton, Tennessee, USA
Model: '06 GL1800, '78 GL1000 with '75 motor
Posts: 1,056
Have you added any electronics lately? My Garmin 2730 would loose satellites when running a VuPoint digital video camera nearby. High frquency noise (cheap LEDs can cause it) both airborne and in the bike's circuitry can mess with a GPS.

"Love 'em all... Let God sort 'em out!"
'52 wife - '69 daughter - '83 daughter
ex '86 SE-i
ex '77 GL1000
pidjones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 06:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Nothing out of the ordinary - ( Iphone nearby running bluetooth as usual, freewire has been on for a few years now ). I'll double check. Thanks
Stan Gay is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 06:19 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveO430 View Post
Try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes.
I'll do that. Thanks.
Stan Gay is offline  
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Goldwing Technical Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome