The case of the Wierd PC problem - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 04:14 AM Thread Starter
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,167
Garage
The case of the Wierd PC problem

my laptop started giving me trouble with non-duplicateable symptoms.


sometimes a mouse click would work, and sometimes, it would not.....


then I could power down, dual boot to the other OS and it would "all okay"


then it just kept getting worse over the last few days...... and then the other OS started acting weird....


a lot of trial and error went on, but I never changed out the LogicTech Wireless mouse.


I installed new Lithium batteries which gave it almost 3.0 volts to work with....
nope, no change.... still weird....




One of the first things I tried to do, I was never able to toggle....
the internal TouchPad is always OFF for me, but with Left Click not working, I was never able to toggle that feature back to ON.... had that been possible, the mouse would have been isolated several days ago....


now I know, hammer it in there, again..... if the mouse goes weird, go find a Wired Mouse.... yep, I am using a very old, Wired LogiTech mouse that came with my Gateway Desktop 10 or 12 years ago....

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 04:17 AM Thread Starter
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,167
Garage
I just experimented with the Systems Menu, and I can use the keyboard to select the TouchPad menu icon.... and bring up the TouchPad icon and application.


BUT, that is where it all stops....
the Linux developers chose to NOT allow anything to be selected UNLESS you have a working mouse

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is online now  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Power Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: Aspencade 1500
Posts: 5,115
Garage
Time to move into the 21 century and get rid of the Linux...lol
AZgl1800 likes this.

Only a biker knows why a dog puts his head out of a window of a moving vehicle.
Power Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 07:41 AM Thread Starter
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,167
Garage
hmmmm,


rule out Linux, rule out Winders, rule out Unix, Suse, Red Hat,



what is left?


Raspberry pi?

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is online now  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Power Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: Aspencade 1500
Posts: 5,115
Garage
Lol I hear you. I still have some floppy disk in my file cabinet from my old programming days. Guess I figure the technology will come back someday.
suvcw04 likes this.

Only a biker knows why a dog puts his head out of a window of a moving vehicle.
Power Guy is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 10:29 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: doyline, la.
Year: 1986
Make: honda
Model: gl1200A
Posts: 500
sooooo, the problem was a bad mouse? you can usually hot plug a different keyboard, or mouse. at one time, back in the 90s, i was playing with multiple computers with mulitple operating systems on one keyboard, video and mouse. i used a kvm switch to change which computer i was using. would switch no problem between linux's but would kill when switching to windows. lol had to reboot. lol
claydbal is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 11:22 AM
Magic Moderator
 
trike lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lovington, NM
Model: No more Wings, Gold or Silver
Posts: 4,141
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZgl1800 View Post
hmmmm,


rule out Linux, rule out Winders, rule out Unix, Suse, Red Hat,



what is left?


Raspberry pi?
You still have Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Power Guy View Post
Lol I hear you. I still have some floppy disk in my file cabinet from my old programming days. Guess I figure the technology will come back someday.
I've got an old Dell desk top that has a floppy drive. Welcome to my collection of obsolete items. XP, Vista and 7 live on here; Windows10 was not welcome here.

As for mice mine are wired not a fan of wireless mice, I have a good gaming mouse that's also wired.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Retired trike builder.
I dislike Spam, too much sodium.
trike lady is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,167
Garage
USB mouses / mice? whatever


are hot pluggable

I do it every day because this laptop does not have any USB-2 ports, they blew up when the battery exploded..... got a new set from salvage, not installed yet.


so, with only a single USB-3 port, I am constantly unpluging the mouse USB fob for the LogicTech USB wireless mouse, and inserting a USB-3 four port hub.


works like a champ... I have two hubs, one is 3 ports no ext-power.
the other one is 4 ports and has a power supply.

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is online now  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Power Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Year: 1997
Make: Honda
Model: Aspencade 1500
Posts: 5,115
Garage
All of this USB talk reminds me of the group of interns that I worked with. On my last day in our Orlando office, they rigged my phone to ring and when I answered it, I would be talking over the office intercom.
So later that afternoon, they all (about 15 of them) had a staff meeting with their manager. So I went to each cubical and gathered all the wireless USB mouse and keyboard sticks, shuffled them all up and randomly put them back.
When they came back to their desks I could hear ”what the heck! My pointer is moving across my screen and I am not touching anything “
So I had one more intercom conversation. “You are all young and have quite a future in front of you, But Don’t ever think you can pull one over on the old man”!
trike lady and suvcw04 like this.

Only a biker knows why a dog puts his head out of a window of a moving vehicle.
Power Guy is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-26-2018, 04:37 PM
Member
 
tamathumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hadley, NY
Year: 2003
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800A
Posts: 210
Garage
Raspberry Pi = Raspbian = Linux

Apple = MacOS = Linux

'03 GL1800A | Porsche 968 | Ford F-150 | Skidoo GSX (2) | Seadoo GTI (2) | Suzuki ATV (2)
A.A.O.N.M.S. | NRA Endowment | Gun Owners of America | Oath Keepers
tamathumper is online now  
Reply

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > Miscellaneous Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wierd...very wierd. Broke Winger Miscellaneous Forum 12 11-24-2009 02:23 AM
Wierd headlight problem DaveO430 Miscellaneous Forum 1 09-14-2008 08:10 PM
83 Aspencade wierd elecrical problem higherplane Goldwing Technical Forum 3 07-01-2008 10:53 PM
wierd electrical problem outdoorman12001 Goldwing Technical Forum 7 06-25-2008 10:33 PM
Wierd radio problem wing ding Goldwing Technical Forum 12 09-03-2007 04:28 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome