1800 navigation (GPS) system - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 09:01 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

Hello group,

What a great place to seek guidance when looking to buy a new Goldwing. I am a newbie here. I currently ride a 2004 Shadow Spirit 1100, and am thinking of purchasing a new Goldwing with the navigation system. I am 59 years old, never owned a Goldwing and figure it is either now or never...

I have not seen the GPS operate on the Goldwing. I have a Garmin Nuvi GPS, a portable unit that my wife and I use in the car. Do any of you have experience with the new navigation system on the Goldwing, and if so, how might it compare with the Garmin or Magellan models that are often used in cars ? How user friendly is the design for motorcycle riding ?

Thanks in advance, I sincerely appreciate your thoughts and guidance.
Dave in Virginia

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-12-2008, 05:19 AM

Post imported post

An honest question gets an honest answer!! I love the 1800 try to sell someone on one every day. It is a great toy!!

The GPS is not so hot though........do a search on the site and you will find pages of talk about it. It is okay......it will get you through......and looking at it from an engineers standpoint....fully adequate for most applications.

You do get stuck with having to purchase it if you want all the bells and whistles. It is a part of some of the package deals.......you cannot just pick out I want ABS brakes or I want the NAV.......it is somewhat of a package deal.

As for cost.....they are about the same........depending on where you might buy the Zumo 550 which is at the moment one of the better units for a bike......it can run as high as a grand or better......I purchased the one I have from Amazon.com and it I am sure was a reconditioned one....but I got it and the mount and all the goodies for 500 bucks.