Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-24-2012, 11:54 AM Thread Starter

Year: 2007
Make: Honda
Model: 1800
Post imported post

Hi,

A litte history. I have a lot of riding experience but nothing larger than a 500cc Honda Shadow back in the early 90's. I can't belive it's been 20 years.

What I'm wondering is a 1500 to large of a bike to get started on again or shall I start out with something smaller like a 750 shadow?

How many of you have gotten on to a Wing after a long break?

I have a 30 inch inseam will I be able to stand flat footed at the stop lights?

I know I will be doing alot of time in the parking lots doing figure 8 and circles and I will be taking a motorcycle education class.

I value all of your opinions.

Ivan

US AirForce - Retired
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-24-2012, 12:02 PM

Model: GL1500 1990
Post imported post

Hi there Ivan and welcome aboard! I always recommend a smaller bike for a refresher but it is up to yourself as to what you do.

The 1500 is a bit of a top heavy bike but can be easily handled.
A 30" inseam should work with most stock 1500 seats as well.

Some riders will lower the bike a bit if they run an aftermarket seat to keep their feet flat.

Life is too short to have that big of a cow over the little things in life...
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-24-2012, 12:12 PM

Post imported post

To get started with practice on a 1500 you can leave the rear suspension pressure set low until you get comfortable.

"Fire all of your guns at once and explode into space"

Remember, when using any forum, that owning a keyboard and having an internet
connection does not make anyone an expert.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-24-2012, 12:16 PM

Post imported post

I have owned a 1500 Goldwing,they are heavy but I wouldn't say they are top heavy.