Garmin 780 stopped working - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 09:13 AM Thread Starter
Bruce County Boy/Snowbird
 
Hawggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
Model: 07 GL1800
Posts: 1,703
Garage
Post imported post

Our Garmin 780 that we use on the Bike stopped working yeterday..worked fine before I parked the Bike for the night.



When I turn it on it just keeps flashing Garmin..Like it is trying to load..but turns off and starts again with the Garmin sign on the screen..



I have disconnected/ reconnected the battery..On start up..Pushed the screen hard in the lower right corner...Nothing..Just keeps Blinking Garmin..One time it did say No Operating system..and it won't boot up when connected to the computer..



Will turn off by holding on/off button for 8 seconds to the left...



I am going to look at another one today m( Garmin 780 )...it is in Toronto..so we get a nice ride out of it..so all is not lost...Just wondering if anyone else has had this happen...







We own a 2007 Goldwing with 65,000 KM ( 39,000 Mi. ) on it.

The best part about owning a wing is you know what your next bike is going to be. ( We know, we just bought our 3rd Goldwing )
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hawggy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 10:06 AM
Keeper of the Bookmarks / Moderator
 
AZgl1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oologah, Indian Territory, USA...
Year: 2002
Make: Honda
Model: GL1800 Hot Rod Yellow
Posts: 57,144
Garage
Post imported post

never had a model 780, but I have a 660 that is doing that.
Ought to throw it in the trash and be done with it.

~ John


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AZgl1800 is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 12:09 PM
Just another ORF!
 
Dusty Boots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada
Model: 92 1500 Aspencade
Posts: 8,189
Garage
Post imported post

Bob, ... why not contact Garmin Service and get their $0.02 worth?

or, if you wish, give them a toll free call - Canada: 1-866-429-9296





1992 1500 Aspencade - 213,178 showing on the clock

- just another Rider
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



"anyone can go fast on a straightaway" - Dusty Boots

Dusty Boots is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
Bruce County Boy/Snowbird
 
Hawggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
Model: 07 GL1800
Posts: 1,703
Garage
Post imported post

Thanks Guys



I got the new GPS today and it worked fine with the exception it would not play MP3's. This was the same sd card that was in the other GPS..I changed out the sd card and it played fine...



I think I have it figured out what happened....The Bike was in the garage with the GPS turned off, but still hooked up to the bike...We had a terrible thunderstorm with lightening and the whole 9 yards...a Big crack went off and shook the whole house...I'll bet that is what fried the GPS...and took all the MP3's off the sd card...



I will call Garmin and get there 2 cents worth next week...





We own a 2007 Goldwing with 65,000 KM ( 39,000 Mi. ) on it.

The best part about owning a wing is you know what your next bike is going to be. ( We know, we just bought our 3rd Goldwing )
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hawggy is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 09:54 PM
Senior Memory
 
ThFireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Model: 2012 GL1800
Posts: 613
Garage
Post imported post

You might try going on Garmins site and download the firmware update and map update. That might get her up and running. If you dont have Lifetime Map Updates then it may not be worth the trouble. But you can still try the Firmware update and see if that fixed your operating system.

Slow Ride, Take it easy....Yea Right!
2012 GL1800 Gold Wing

The Wingman Moto VLog
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Or just search "Wingman Moto"
ThFireman is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > General Motorcycle Discussion Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GL1500 speedo stopped working TUGWILSON Goldwing Technical Forum 4 04-25-2012 08:11 PM
brake lights stopped working justolate Goldwing Technical Forum 4 03-27-2012 01:36 PM
speedometer stopped working whitewingguy Goldwing Technical Forum 9 05-31-2011 01:20 PM
Headlight stopped working toy4rick Goldwing Technical Forum 6 01-28-2008 12:26 AM
My tach stopped working prizmatik Goldwing Technical Forum 1 01-26-2007 06:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome