Winter riding tips, techniques and what works for me - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-31-2014, 12:29 PM Thread Starter

Model: 1983 Aspencade
Winter riding tips, techniques and what works for me

Given as it was snowing this morning, I thought a thread on winter riding might be appropriate.

I've been riding in winter since 1982, just so you know. My personal temp record is -15 F to and from work.

Personal gear I use has varied somewhat, but am now down to a Widder electric vest and chaps I bought in 1985, Aerostar boots, a pair of snow pants, a US Navy pullover that is scary warm, my usual riding jacket and my rain jacket top, to cut the wind. Plus various sweatshirts and long undies, depends on the temp and length of ride.

Were I to tog up today, I'd go with an electric jacket (or vest with sleeves), the rest works out well enough not to want to change.

The bike gets: Hippo Hands, heated grips and seat, winter covers for the radiator outlets, extra air wings to direct air away from my legs, and I am going to try a second battery in a spare left saddlebag, just to give a bit more when the temps are below 0. Thinking of a U-1 lawn tractor battery, though I have another GW battery on the shelf, too.

If finances permit, a sidecar will be Really helpful on those snowy days. I've had in the past, and t'was like a street legal snowmobile.

Those are what I do/use, what are your techniques and ideas??

Cosmo

P.S. I've already been called crazy, a couple (dozen? hundred?) times.

Posted with a Gennie Navaho blanket and traditional flames
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 10-31-2014, 01:25 PM

Year: 1993
Make: Honda
Model: GL1500A