The dreaded 3 wire plug...again - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By wilmo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Large Member
 
wilmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ogden, Utah, USA
Year: 2000
Make: Honda
Model: SE
Posts: 787
Garage
The dreaded 3 wire plug...again

Yeah it happened again. I already bypassed the stator plug next to the battery when I first got the bike as it burned up on my first long ride. Things were fine until lately. I've been having to charge the battery once a week to keep the battery up. I admit, it's been sitting too much lately so I just thought that was it. But today, I'm riding around doing things and it's having trouble starting every time.
At home I left it running to go inside and get a voltmeter. I'm only getting 12.5 volts ant 3k rpm. I get that sinking feeling as I know I've already replaced that plug. I charge the battery and take it to a local battery shop and they pronounce it good. Back home, I decide to take it apart to find the root cause.
Turns out to be the second plug upstream. One of the stator wires burned a hole through the plug. A sigh of relief and gather up the wire and solder etc to complete the job I should have done before.
When bypassing that first plug, go all the way to the regulator. My strong advice for the day to all of you.
I am now getting 15.17v at 3k rpm . Time to go ridin'
Aloha Tom likes this.

Wilmo
Rubber side down!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
101421 miles as of 091418
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You don't stop riding because you get old. You get old because you stop riding!
wilmo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 11:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: All Roads Lead To Yosemite, CA.
Year: 94
Model: 1500 SE
Posts: 4,568
Great advice for anyone with any Honda bike made in the 80s, from the 110 atc to the Goldwing,
same plug used thru-out the line!

If you have suffered actual damage of that stator connector- Expect damage past the obvious burn area
Seems simple, but I never thought about after fixing the Shadow...ooops!
Aloha Tom is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > General Motorcycle Discussion Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why no RPM drop with #2 or #4 plug wire removed from plug. DW in Id. Goldwing Technical Forum 40 11-26-2010 09:35 AM
plug wire ??????? mmonsterbuck Goldwing Technical Forum 3 03-05-2008 10:27 PM
Plug wire's john424 Goldwing Technical Forum 3 09-20-2007 04:59 PM
wire up to a 4 wire trailer from 6 wire plug! vv0350 General Motorcycle Discussion Forum 3 04-10-2007 07:59 PM
Plug wire set? cwride58 Goldwing Technical Forum 5 10-28-2006 09:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome