GL1500 Cyclemax GPS Input Harness - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-31-2013, 06:30 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
GL1500 Cyclemax GPS Input Harness

This will allow you to listen to your MP3 player or GPS through the intercom headset. I had it on my GL1500 for a couple weeks.
50.00 OBO delivered CONUS
PayPal fine
PM me.
From the website:
"This is a GPS input harness. This was designed to allow audio commands from the GPS to be heard through the intercom. The voice commands will automatically mute any music that may be playing as if it were a passenger speaking and the plug will fit anything with a 3.5mm audio jack. This has a 78" long GPS lead so it will reach any location as well as a ground loop isolator built in to avoid any electrical or alternator noise. It will feed the audio to the headsets connected to the intercom cords, it will not feed audio to the speakers. Our plug and play harness connects easily under the left fairing pocket and will work on all Goldwing GL1500's."
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (254.7 KB, 144 views)

Last edited by 1potter1; 06-01-2013 at 09:45 AM.
1potter1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
nobbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 5,377
I have one on my 1500 and it works well. I had to add an output jack to the GPS but that was relatively simple.

Len
___________________________
True friends do not urge you on from the sidelines. They march with you.
They are warriors, not cheerleaders.
nobbie is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-03-2013, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
Thx Nobbie,
If your looking to play music from a iPhone, mp3 or GPs through your helmet headset, this is quick easy plug and play set up from under the left pocket.
1potter1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-19-2013, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
ttt
1potter1 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2013, 07:55 AM
Member
 
biker251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Upper Coverdale NB,Canada
Year: 2008
Make: 1800 with Motortrike Conversion
Model: 1800 with Motor Trike Conversion
Posts: 33
Gps

Is there a link on here where it explains how to put a output jack on a Garmin GPS??
biker251 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2013, 09:11 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
The harness comes with a 3.5 audio jack the plugs into most devices that have audio, i.e GPS, Phones, MP3 players.
It's a plug and play that takes about 2 minutes to install.

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gps_...ess/129/137230
1potter1 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-05-2013, 06:08 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
Ttt
1potter1 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-05-2013, 02:04 PM
Wingrider67
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Morristown,Tn
Year: 2001
Make: Goldwing Trike
Model: 2001 Goldwing 1800 Trike
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobbie View Post
I have one on my 1500 and it works well. I had to add an output jack to the GPS but that was relatively simple.
How did you add the output. I have a Garmin that does not have one.

Wingrider59
Wingrider59 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-05-2013, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
nobbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Model: GL1500SE
Posts: 5,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wingrider59 View Post
How did you add the output. I have a Garmin that does not have one.

Wingrider59
The hardest is figuring out how to open the GPS case without breaking it. Mine was a cheap refurbished Garmin so I didn't have a lot to lose. It was held together with a bunch of snap lock tabs around the perimeter.

Once the unit is open it's just a matter of rewiring the internal speaker to a suitable female jack. Any electronics store has the jacks, Radio Shack etc. I used a female jack with a switch that mutes the internal speaker when the male jack is inserted.

I cemented the jack to the outside of the case with JB Weld.

I'll try to post some pictures in the technical forum.

I also used a hard wired connection to the 12 volt electrical system. That was purchased from a Garmin dealer. You can't just cut the cigarette lighter plug of any GPS cord and run direct. The cigarette plug part has a voltage reducer.

Len
___________________________
True friends do not urge you on from the sidelines. They march with you.
They are warriors, not cheerleaders.
nobbie is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-05-2013, 03:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: KC
Model: 99 GL1500SE
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wingrider59 View Post
How did you add the output. I have a Garmin that does not have one.

Wingrider59
I would think most GPS devices hace a 3.5 audio jack for the output. My 55o has one.
1potter1 is offline  
Closed Thread

  Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums > Forums > For Sale/Wanted Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 GL1500 Audio Input Jack toy4rick Goldwing Technical Forum 14 07-24-2014 09:05 PM
Splitting GL1500 Audio Input? Chromo Goldwing Technical Forum 4 07-01-2012 04:46 PM
Auxiliary input connector, GL1500? KB9VBT Goldwing Technical Forum 10 05-30-2011 02:59 PM
Mstation and direct input on the GL1500 Ron Wylie Goldwing Technical Forum 1 01-27-2009 04:29 PM
kennedy gl1500 aux input rkjjeep Goldwing Technical Forum 2 12-25-2007 11:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome