Just one thing - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-12-2008, 10:06 PM Thread Starter

Post imported post

SO my '03 turned over 100K a couple weekends ago, and then I get the administrative note reminding me that I actually *did* join this board a while back. (Forgetful idiot!)

I think I'd like to introduce myself here. I am a Latin teacher in the Deep South who rides all year long. At this point my Leanabago has had nearly every microswitch replaced, has had the frame weld done, has had the left bag latch mechanism replaced twice, the windshield ratchet once (needs doing again), had the alternator clip break an a piece of it get sucked into the tranny, necessitating a complete teardown and rebuild, has had the ECM swapped & the speed sensor replaced, and I forget what all else. This weekend, the headlight subharness gets replaced. All of this has been done under warranty.

What do I want? Either a more reliable Wing or a loaner bike every single time I'm having warranty work done. I love this bike, but it is the least reliable I have ever owned. And sadly, if I were going to buy a replacement today, I'd just get an '08 Wing. What a sucker.

Pax,
Michael
IBA, HRCA, former '93 viffer crotch rocket, now '03 couch rocket

former 1993 VFR750F Crotch Rocket
then 2003 GL1800 Leanabago Couch Rocket
traded in with with only 152K on the clock
for '14 NSS300 (now a commuter instead of tourer)
IBA (50CC, SS2K, BB15K), HRCA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-13-2008, 10:47 AM

Location: Edgefield -Capitol of the South-, South Carolina, USA
Post imported post

Welcome from South Kakalaki!

Sorry to hear about your troubles. There's bound to be at least on lemon every so often. A loaner bike would be a great idea. I have always felt that if it was under warranty, then they should give you something to ride while they fix their problems.