Changing the Stereo on a 81 Goldwing ? - Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-04-2014, 07:06 PM Thread Starter

Model: 1981 GL1100 Interstate
Changing the Stereo on a 81 Goldwing ?

I recently purchased a 1981 GL1100 Goldwing Interstate. I would like to change out the factory AM/FM cassette stereo with a new Sony Xplode AM/FM CD player I have laying around. I am electronically inclined as I am a retired engineer. Is it as simple as say changing out a car stereo and and using a DVM to indentify speaker wires, power, accessory power etc. and making my own adapter harness or does Honda make it somehow tricky on a 1981 ? I see people selling a variety of stock harnesses, factory Clarion decks and amplifiers ? I really do not see the need for a amplifier using a more modern CD deck the Sony Xplode CD player mentioned above. I have seen several posts where changing out the stereo on a Goldwing is not a simple task so was just curious what the issues are ? Or does it get more complex on the later model Wings ? Remember mine is a 1981 Interstate with factory speakers and deck in the fairing. I would also like to add a pair of rear speakers. I just bought the bike a week ago but have been very sick and have not had time to pull the stereo and look at the harness. I Can't wait to get better and work on the Wing ! I have all winter as I live in Iowa. Thanks for your help in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-05-2014, 11:29 AM

Model: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade with sidecar
I have installed or modded stereos on pretty much every vehicle or bike I have owned since 1976. It has been my experience on a lot of the older vehicles, it's just better to run new wires, (especially speaker wires). It's not really that difficult and when you run new wires, you KNOW where your connections are, instead of relying on modular connectors that may be heavily oxidized/corroded.