Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

My GL1200 -84 suffers from a 125mA current drain from the battery when everything is switched off. No ignition on, nothing at all...
Triedto remove the fuses one by one, still 125mA leaving the battery.
As I do not have a shop manual available for the moment, is there more connected to the battery than the charging regulator with the ignition key "off"?
As 125mAmeans draining 3Ah per 24hI have temporary solved the problem by disconnecting the +cable from the battery. A good solution but not good enough :baffled:
Where should I look for current leaks?

·
Other side of the pond
3,409 Posts
imported post

Hi StigRand welcome to the forum. 3amps per day is a lot, most bike alarms only draw about 1 amps max per day. There always is a drain of sorts on the gl1200, the radio memory etc., but 3amps is too much. I'm not an expert on the 1200, one of the ladsa will probably advise you better later on. :waving:

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post

StigR wrote:
My GL1200 -84 suffers from a 125mA current drain from the battery when everything is switched off. No ignition on, nothing at all...
Triedto remove the fuses one by one, still 125mA leaving the battery.
As I do not have a shop manual available for the moment, is there more connected to the battery than the charging regulator with the ignition key "off"?
As 125mAmeans draining 3Ah per 24hI have temporary solved the problem by disconnecting the +cable from the battery. A good solution but not good enough
Where should I look for current leaks?
StigR, a 125mA draw is mighty high. I would expect a good system to be wellunder 20mA.

Did you pull the radio in line fuse that's under the L/H fairing pocket? That feeds part of the radio system & is known for causing a high parasitic drain. (pull the L/H fairing pocket cover then pull the screws & remove the actual plastic pocket)